Bake Sale Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2000
These lemon bars were VERY good. I had some trouble with them though. I have NO idea how you all spread this dough to fit a 13x9 pan. It was too sticky so I put it in an 8x8 and cooked it for the same amount of time and it came out fine. I also had trouble cutting the bars. The bottom was very hard. I wanted to add more lemon juice since other reviewers suggested this but I didn't have more than 1/4 c. so I put in 1/2 tsp. lemon oil. That did the trick. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2000
These were really delicious. My whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
If you love the taste of lemon, you have to try this recipe. Definitely quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
A real crowd pleaser. I did put a bit more lemon juice thoug--1/3+ cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2000
I loved this. I've made it several times since coming onto this site. And it was a smash everytime. I did add a little lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2000
Really really good. Made from the stuff you always have around. I added a little more lemon juice though, I used about 1/3 to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
They were all gone in less than one day. No tummy aches. I have to wait another week or so to make them. I don't want anyone getting fat. Yummy and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2000
Extremely yummy! My husband thought they were going to be too sweet, but they were just right. Thanks Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
This recipe is as my girls would call it, "the bomb" (which is a great thing). We made these for a family reunion and I received many compliments. I have made many different lemon bar recipes, but this is by far the most easiest, most excellent one I have ever tried. I used 1/2 cup of freshly squeezed lemon juice and it was absolutely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
I've already made these twice this week since running across this recipe. It's awesome! I made it in a 9x13 pan per the instructions the first time, but was not pleased with the visual results. Taste-wise it was fine, though. So I put it in my Pampered Chef 8 or 9-in. (can't remember) square baker (stoneware) and it turned out much better. I also added some lemon flavor just because I really wanted it to be extra *lemony*. A suggestion I'd make is to blend the crust ingredients in a food processor rather than doing the blending by hand. THOROUGHLY blend the crust ingreds.! It should look like cookie dough. If you taste it, it IS like cookie dough. Yum! Then press it into the pan. I'd also recommend greasing the sides of the pan REALLY well, as that yummy, gooey lemon stuff sticks to the sides terribly. Oh the misery of scraping off the goo and being forced to eat it! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 954) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States