Bake Sale Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
1 1/2 cups sugar?! These lemon bars are not very balanced, all I taste is sugar... Do NOT make original recipe. This is not a good recipe. Sorry :( I made GourmetMommy's version and they were much better. I think most people will find them to be balanced. But a warning to those who have re-trained their dessert palettes (for health reasons), her recipe is still too much sugar for you. If you are into more health-foods, follow GourmetMommy's recipe and cut back on the sugar so it's only 1 cup. (If you are not used to eating a lot of sugar this will be a good amount for you... it will be sweet enough!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ransomedheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I thought these bars were wonderful for what they were....Super Easy. I put these bars together in about 5 min. These were baked, cooled, cut, and on the tray in a hour. I found that they cut nicely when still warm and just put them on the cooling rack to finish cooling. I did not alter the ingredients at all but I did decrease the oven temp to 325 and baked in a greased, glass 9x13, and increased the cooking time 8-10 minutes. Adjust to your oven..shorter if your oven runs hot..longer if it runs cool. It will look like you do not have enough crust..I stated to get upset but I pressed it out and it did cover the whole pan. DO Not run up the side of the pan. I can see why people said the edges burnt, just pat even into bottom. If your pan is greased well enough the filling will not stick to the sides of the pan but will develop a very thin, very light brown, wonderfully chewy edge. I felt the powered sugar sprinkle was not needed and can be messy. Crust was perfect and filling was great. They cut like a dream. For those who prefer more crust or filling then experiment and double what you want. I might try next time adding some lemon zest for more lemon flavor. BUT for how easy they were and the fact that most people have these simple ingredients on hand they were great. The original recipe was published in my taste of home magazine and the original temp was 350 not 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wonewoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eecaule
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
These were yummy, but a little sweeter and less tart than I expected. I made no changes in the ingredients, but I did bake this in a 10 x 6 pan after reading other reviewers' comments about the difficulty spreading the flour mixture into a 9 x 13 pan. The baking time was fine with the smaller pan. I would make these again, but would reduce the white sugar by 1/4 of a cup and increasing the lemon juice by a few tablesppons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eecaule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Love this recipe as is: tart and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
These are very good. don't follow this recipe though do what Gourmentmommy says. They are amazing lemon bars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Easy, Awesome and Delish! Don't change a thing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wernersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
My favorite, go-to recipe for lemon bars- excellent taste. Sweet and tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VLB1218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Follow the original recipe. I tried Gourmetmommy's, and it was a failure. I should have never deviated from the wonderful recipe that was posted. Rave reviews every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Way too sweet! I even cut out 1/4 c. sugar. Also, the crust was a bit bland for our liking. You think that would have helped with the rest of it being so sweet, but it did not. Probably won't make again without revising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frogs&Fairytales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 953) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States