Bake Sale Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was one of my favorite recipes years ago. That was before I found a recipe that was topped with a rich tangy lemon CURD. It is made with many more egg yolks and butter with heavy cream, then is cooked on the stovetop until a thick custard is achieved. Making a true curd is definately the way to go!****** (although some people-like my friend's son- seem to prefer a less "lemony" version of lemon bars, and then these just might be the way to go for those people).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I agree with Jennifer below. I did the recipe just as stated except tried only 1 cup sugar and it was perfect. I had never made lemon bars before but needed to use up some lemons used for their zest for another recipe. This is a keeper in my opinion. Sunflower Janie, Washington, DC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
In the middle because I used GourmetMommy's suggestion. Extremely tart on the day you cook it (and I LOVE tart), but put it in the fridge overnight and the tartness mellows out. THEN the taste is FANTASTIC!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahkim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
i added a bit more lemon juice because i prefer my lemon bars more tangy, but all in all, a really good recipe that i'll be going back to...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TYGRWMN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Just made these and they're quite yummy. The crust was a little overdone on the edges but that may be due to the rack being set too low in my oven. I used the juice from 2 lemons (1/3 cup) and a little lemon zest as I love a tangy lemony taste (can't imagine using anything but fresh lemons). I also pulled them out of the oven at the 20 minute mark. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Yummy just as is. My family loves them. Very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Wish I would have went with the original recipe on this one. If you like lemon pie, use the other reviewers' suggestions. These would have turned out just fine and the right consistency for both crust and filling, had I went with the original recipe. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Al

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gandeeville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Winnabow, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I just made these and they are not good at all. I did as the recipe said and all you could taste was the dough. It definitely needed more sugar and lemon to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 953) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States