Bake Sale Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
The lemon bars came out pretty good. I added about 1/4 cup more lemon juice to the mix. Next time I will use a smaller pan to cook them in because the dough was pretty thin. Also, the very edges were a little burnt because the lemon mixture didn't cover the edges. Will make again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
These were good, easy to make. I did double the eggs and flour, and did 1 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice. My husband liked them, his only complaint is he wished the crust had been more crunchy. But I didnt mind the crust, I will probably make these again if I don't find a better lemon bar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Really, really tasty. I think I will double the filling next time, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I made these using the directions of GOURMETMOMMY and I think that the tartness is great, but too sweet. Will cut back to only 3/4c sugar next time. They look great and taste good, but too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Made these with my students for a bake sale at school. We followed the recipe exactly how it was written. The kids said these were the best lemon bars they had ever eaten!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Perfect lemon bar recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I like the recipe just the way it is. I think the problem GOURMETMOMMY and beebeebaker were having is that they were using metal pans, and it worked just fine the way it was when I used my glass pan. I didn't double the crust either, and it worked great. I suggest trying it the way it is before making more crust or adjusting temps, though if you know for a fact you like more tart bars, then go ahead and lessen the sugar and try it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vail, Arizona, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I did what GOURMETMOMMY said to do. They turned out amazingly yummy, but I can't give the original recipe more than two stars. If I hadn't made the suggested substitutions, I imagine they wouldn't have been that good. Definitely double to dough recipe, or use a smaller dish (which is what I did) because there is no way it will cover the bottom of a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Yikes! The bars over baked at 20 minutes! and why is the bar so thin?? Next time I'll bake at 15 minutes and use a smaller pan. But the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Looks pretty simple! I might just have to make these...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffinsncupcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States