Bake Sale Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Great lemon bar! I lowered the temp to 350 and baked the crust for 10 minutes. I did add some lemon zest to the crust. Added in an extra quarter cup of real lemon juice plus a nice heaping tablespoon of lemon zest to the lemon mixture. Baked the whole thing for 20 minutes. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
These are so easy to make and are so delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, but noting what other reviewers said about having to double most of the ingredients I used a 7x11 baking pan and the bars were PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GarlicQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
One note - make ahead as they are best cooled! These are fantastic! I make them pretty regularly since they seem to be a hit with everyone. I have made a few modifications based on our taste - I use less sugar in crust (1/3 c), increased lemon juice more than double and added 2 tsp lemon zest. This last batch, I added a small quantity of vanilla and it really mellowed out the lemon nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
these were great, but extremely sweet! They were also quite easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
no lemon flavor at all. they were ok, but wouldn't anything with a ton of butter and sugar be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Followed the modifications made in the comments and these turned out well. They were still a bit tart though, so may need to find another lemon bar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I followed GOURMETMOMMY's recipe instructions (reviewed Oct. 14, 2009), rather than what's called for. However, what I did make turned out well, and wasn't too sweet for our tastes. I think they could have been even tarter, but that's likely because I used meyer lemons (sweeter, less tart) from my tree instead of normal supermarket variety ones. Next time I'll use supermarket ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Very good. My family's favorite. Have made many times and the only thing that I did different, was to add some grated lemon peel to make it a little more tart. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willamina, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I've made it exactly as the recipe says, which results in a crispier crust and turned down the heat to 350, which makes a thicker, doughier crust. But either way, it is absolutely delicious and only uses a few ingredients that are already on hand. My husband who is not a sweets guy loves it, so does everyone in the family, and those who have tried it as a tea party I brought them to. Whoever dubbed these "crack bars" has it so right. Once you start, it's all you can think about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 953) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States