Bake Sale Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Growing up, I abhorred all things citrus dessert, but making these for a friend forced me to try them...after all, a cook shouldn't serve food they themselves have not yet tasted ;) these were delicioso!!!!!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
carrie i had no problems at all and i prepared for 150 servings the recipe says till golden brown if its burnt its has to deal with you not the recipe ive been a chef for 23 years things only burn if you let them and nuber 2 recipes are guidelines not rules you should try to make it yours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Make it for an actual bake sale. Everyone loved them. Made another batch and sent most of them into with husband to work. Got actual thank you emails from his co-workers! And, I made them EXACTLY as the recipe says. They stayed crisp and were excellent. I like how sweet they are because I don't want to eat a bunch of these at one time. Just a small square satisfies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
excellent. Best if let to cool completely....and even better the next day. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I melted the butter, added the dry ingredients, mixed well and then patted it into a 9X13 glass pan. Baked for 14 mins. Used 2/3 c lemon juice, grated lemon rind of two lemons, 4 eggs and 1/4 c flour for the topping. The lemon rind gives lots of extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I hate to do a bad review, but I'm not sure what happened. There was not enough lemon mixture for the top. Mine were not even close to as thick as the picture. Also the edge got really brown. I'm going to have to pass on this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Love this recipe, only thing I added was 2 tablespoons of lemon and 2 tablespoons of lemon zest. These are really good and everyone enjoys them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Andre' Fox

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I've made this a few times now. Twice according to the recipe, and a few times with some alterations (include Gourmet Mommy). I actually find many aspects of this recipe fine as is but: 1) Definitely decrease the temperature of the oven to 350 and remove your crust at 10 minutes, remove the filling at 15-17. 2) I find the filling ratios (sugar to lemon) fine as is. I do think that the technique needs to be modified though because the bars are a little thin. Make sure to use room temperature eggs. Separate them and keep the yolks to the side. Whip the whites until they form soft peaks. Then cream together the flour, sugar, lemon juice and yolks. Fold the yolk mixture into the whites. This will help give some volume to the lemon part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faythe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made to reviews recommendations wished I would have used the orginal recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Made these for a baby shower...they were gone as fast as we could put them out...fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 960) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States