Bake Sale Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I have to admit that I have never enjoyed lemon bars, and would have never thought to seek out this recipe if I had a say in the matter, but sometimes to get ahead you just need to know to do what you are told and my brother never learned that lessons and we all know how well he is doing still looking for work in Kentucky. I guess Scott was right. If you are feeling bold, consider drizzling salted caramel over the tops of these bars and adding a hint of mint and lime to the mixture. Admittedly, it is a wide departure in taste, but I have found that variation is at least on par with the original recipe if not superior along another spectrum. I also find these burn easily if baked for longer than 90 minutes, even at lower temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I accidentally used 1. Whole cup of butter for the crust but they still turned out wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Very good dessert, but I suggest using 1 1/2 tablespoons of zest instead of just 1 tablespoon, to add more of a lemon flavor. Also add 1/4 cup of water to the "crust" dough to make it easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Delicious! add a little more lemon and you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I found these to be very good. Made as is the first time. Wanted a bit more filling, so next time I added an extra 1/3 recipe of filling, baking it just a bit longer. Try the original recipe first THEN give it a 1 star or thumbs down if that is how you feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I really thought this recipe was delicious. I think it is the best I have ever made. I will show this recipe to my family and friends so they can taste how good they are too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Growing up, I abhorred all things citrus dessert, but making these for a friend forced me to try them...after all, a cook shouldn't serve food they themselves have not yet tasted ;) these were delicioso!!!!!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
carrie i had no problems at all and i prepared for 150 servings the recipe says till golden brown if its burnt its has to deal with you not the recipe ive been a chef for 23 years things only burn if you let them and nuber 2 recipes are guidelines not rules you should try to make it yours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Make it for an actual bake sale. Everyone loved them. Made another batch and sent most of them into with husband to work. Got actual thank you emails from his co-workers! And, I made them EXACTLY as the recipe says. They stayed crisp and were excellent. I like how sweet they are because I don't want to eat a bunch of these at one time. Just a small square satisfies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
excellent. Best if let to cool completely....and even better the next day. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 956) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States