Bake Sale Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
My alterations make this a five star recipe, in my opinion, but as written, it needs work to suit my family. I like my lemon bars tart, not sickening sweet. Here's what I do: Decrease temp to 350 degrees. Leave crust the same, put in 9 x 13 enameled metal pan. Bake 15 min. For filling, double flour and eggs, use 1 C lemon juice and 1 3/4 C sugar. Add 3 drops yellow food coloring. Bake 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1095 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
These are easy and delicious. I hate when people review recipes and then say "Don't make the original recipe, use my changes". I like to follow the original recipe and then rate it for what it's worth. I liked this and thought they were tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
514 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
DOUBLE the ingredients for the crust. And for the rest of the recipe, DO what GOURMETMOMMY does-decrease temp to 350 degrees. Put in 9 x 13 enameled metal pan. Bake 15 min. For filling, double flour and eggs, use 1 C lemon juice and 1 3/4 C sugar. Add 3 drops yellow food coloring. Bake 20 min. With these changes to the recipe, you will get delicious lemon bars! Do NOT use the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
396 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I made these a few minutes ago and followed Gourmet Mommy's advice and will put it here so no one else has to scroll back 4 years!!---->(From Gourmet Mommy: My alterations make this a five star recipe, in my opinion. I like my lemon bars tart, not sickening sweet. Here's what I do: Decrease temp to 350 degrees. Leave crust the same, put in 9 x 13 enameled metal pan. Bake 15 min. For filling, double flour and eggs, use 1 C lemon juice and 1 3/4 C sugar. Add 3 drops yellow food coloring. Bake 20 min.) ** Now I did not use the food coloring and added 1/2 tsp lemon extract. I also used 2/3 cup butter on accident, but the bars did not turn out too buttery or greasy. Delicious and I will be using this recipe during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLY in Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I've made these a bunch of times and they've always turned out great. Here's a piece of advice for the people who are having problems with the recipe. 1) Pay attention to your crust. Everyone's oven is different, and what works in one may not work in another. 2) TASTE the filling part!Not a spoonful, just a fingerfull before you pour it in. If it's too sweet, you'll know before you waste an entire batch. My roots are in the south, so I like them sweet :o) If you don't, though, try this and you may save yourself some heartache!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkerlieBee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I've made this several times now and several ways. I am rating it 5 stars for the original recipe and had no trouble at all covering the 9x 13 pan with the crust. I think the secret is to spread it with an angled cake frosting knife. I've also made this with GourmetMommy's suggestions (most helpful ratings) and really hated it (sorry) - WAY too sour - guess I'm a Southerner at heart and like the sweeter version? Last night for our potluck I made it as directed, except used the Shortbread Crust recipe (on this site submitted by Angela) someone had suggested and doubled the original filling (had to cook a bit longer). It was yummy but very gooey and I like them a bit crunchier for lack of a better word. Totally LOVED the shortbread crust (you must try it this way) and the bars were gone within the first five minutes. For anyone out there - turn your oven down to 350 as all have said and watch it! My crust baked perfectly but some ovens are hotter. Just keep an eye on it until it's golden brown - about every 7-8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I don't understand why this is a 5 star recipe if everyone who liked it altered it in one way or another. I followed the recipe exactly, and the result was a burnt, rubbery, flavorless bar cookie. I would recommend finding another lemon bar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
My husband loved these. I made them twice, the first time as described by the recipe. The second time I reduced the pan size in half and lowered the temperature to 300 and cooked each phase untill goloden brown on top. They came out thicker and better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2000
These lemon bars were VERY good. I had some trouble with them though. I have NO idea how you all spread this dough to fit a 13x9 pan. It was too sticky so I put it in an 8x8 and cooked it for the same amount of time and it came out fine. I also had trouble cutting the bars. The bottom was very hard. I wanted to add more lemon juice since other reviewers suggested this but I didn't have more than 1/4 c. so I put in 1/2 tsp. lemon oil. That did the trick. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
These were good, however, next time I make them, I will only bake for 20 minutes-after 25, they were a little crunchy (but still really tasty!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 956) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States