Bake Sale Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I did what GOURMETMOMMY said to do. They turned out amazingly yummy, but I can't give the original recipe more than two stars. If I hadn't made the suggested substitutions, I imagine they wouldn't have been that good. Definitely double to dough recipe, or use a smaller dish (which is what I did) because there is no way it will cover the bottom of a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Yikes! The bars over baked at 20 minutes! and why is the bar so thin?? Next time I'll bake at 15 minutes and use a smaller pan. But the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Looks pretty simple! I might just have to make these...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffinsncupcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
yum! didn't change a thing, everyone loved them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I just made these and they are awesome! The only change I made was to add one tablespoon more lemon juice than the original, but they would've been great without it as well. FYI, I used the shortest baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made these for superbowl party last night and they loved them so much, the host and hostess hid the rest of them in their bedroom for later!! lol Not fair to other guests, but what they didnt know won't hurt them. This is my go to recipe. The ONLY change I made was upped the lemon juiceto 1/2 cup, and I use lemon juice conentrate from the bottle. For some reason, whenever I use fresh lemon juice, whatever I'm making tastes like metal...Anyone know why that is??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookyldy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was one of my favorite recipes years ago. That was before I found a recipe that was topped with a rich tangy lemon CURD. It is made with many more egg yolks and butter with heavy cream, then is cooked on the stovetop until a thick custard is achieved. Making a true curd is definately the way to go!****** (although some people-like my friend's son- seem to prefer a less "lemony" version of lemon bars, and then these just might be the way to go for those people).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I agree with Jennifer below. I did the recipe just as stated except tried only 1 cup sugar and it was perfect. I had never made lemon bars before but needed to use up some lemons used for their zest for another recipe. This is a keeper in my opinion. Sunflower Janie, Washington, DC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
In the middle because I used GourmetMommy's suggestion. Extremely tart on the day you cook it (and I LOVE tart), but put it in the fridge overnight and the tartness mellows out. THEN the taste is FANTASTIC!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahkim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 960) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States