Bake Sale Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
The first time I made this,I did not like this at all! However I tried a second time using most helpful ratings and then it was great---there needs to be another recipe instead of this one written. I doubled the lemon mixture part except the white sugar. used 350 setting baked crust only 15mns, used 3/4cup of lemon juice and 1T of lemon extract in my crust mixture. I also added lavender to my lemon mixture after pouring it on the crust. I will make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
These were WONDERFUL! My husband and I made the recipe together tonight for fun. He has not baked before, but thought it was a very quick and easy recipe to make. We were both very excited about how they turned out! I followed the recipe given except I baked at 350. For this southerner, the bars were the perfect balance of sweet and tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This recipe didn't work for me, there was way too much crust, not enough lemon. The base was black after 10 minutes and it said to put it on for 20, then when i put it in again to cook the top it was just even more black, and it started making mountains in the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I have no idea what the rave is about but I think the crust was overdone and I even took it out early. second of all, aren't the bars supposed to be gooey? The recipe timing and temp is way off and they aren't even yellow. Sorry - this is a no go for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
My whole family loves these, just a written. Well almost. Sometimes I make the full recipe, but put it in a 9x9 pan for thinker bars. I also adjust the cooking time a bit for my oven. And I have used key lime juice as well! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HLKane

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I rate this 5 stars using GOURMETMOMMY's recipe changes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momto3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I followed Gourmetmommy's suggestions and these were a real success. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Like Jennifer, I hate when people review the recipe after they've made their own changes. This recipe as is stands is very good. It's a bit thin, so if you like yours thicker, make your own adjustments. The taste, though, is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I don't know what went wrong here, but I had the hardest time getting these out of the pan. They also seemed to lack a real lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
liked them just a little to sweet for me but everyone else loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gogerty

Displaying results 31-40 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States