Bake Sale Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I melted the butter, added the dry ingredients, mixed well and then patted it into a 9X13 glass pan. Baked for 14 mins. Used 2/3 c lemon juice, grated lemon rind of two lemons, 4 eggs and 1/4 c flour for the topping. The lemon rind gives lots of extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I hate to do a bad review, but I'm not sure what happened. There was not enough lemon mixture for the top. Mine were not even close to as thick as the picture. Also the edge got really brown. I'm going to have to pass on this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Love this recipe, only thing I added was 2 tablespoons of lemon and 2 tablespoons of lemon zest. These are really good and everyone enjoys them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAFOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I've made this a few times now. Twice according to the recipe, and a few times with some alterations (include Gourmet Mommy). I actually find many aspects of this recipe fine as is but: 1) Definitely decrease the temperature of the oven to 350 and remove your crust at 10 minutes, remove the filling at 15-17. 2) I find the filling ratios (sugar to lemon) fine as is. I do think that the technique needs to be modified though because the bars are a little thin. Make sure to use room temperature eggs. Separate them and keep the yolks to the side. Whip the whites until they form soft peaks. Then cream together the flour, sugar, lemon juice and yolks. Fold the yolk mixture into the whites. This will help give some volume to the lemon part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faythe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made to reviews recommendations wished I would have used the orginal recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Made these for a baby shower...they were gone as fast as we could put them out...fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This recipe is really simple and delicious. My family can't stop eating it. I love the tastes; sour, but sweet in the same time i have to give BIG 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
DOUBLE the ingredients for the crust. And for the rest of the recipe, DO what GOURMETMOMMY does-decrease temp to 350 degrees. Put in 9 x 13 enameled metal pan. Bake 15 min. For filling, double flour and eggs, use 1 C lemon juice and 1 3/4 C sugar. Bake 20 min. With these changes to the recipe, you will get delicious lemon bars! Do NOT use the original recipe! Omit Food DYE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaBear97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
these were excellent and soo easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is four stars for the changes GOURMETMOMMY mentioned, since most reviewers tended to go with her suggestions. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't as amazing as I hoped they would be. Maybe it's because I only have whole wheat flour and I only used 1.5 cups of lemon juice (I ran out), and I didn't douse the top with tons of confectioners' sugar--I added a thin layer to it, which was absorbed by the filling part and did not end up looking like the picture; I'm just not sure. I think if I make it again, I shall use some actual lemons to get some pulp in there, and maybe not use whole wheat flour. Still good, just not perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petitemousie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 956) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States