Bake Sale Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Best lemon bars I've ever tasted! The crust is like a true shortbread (but make sure you use butter!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campcook
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe as written is way to sweet. I ended up tossing most of them, and my Teen loves lemon. The textures were right on, and I had no issue cutting the crust as some people have noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumnswirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
These didn't look like lemon squares when I made them. There was a crust on top of the that almost made them look like they were an apple square or something. They were very good but I would double the lemon filling next time. Some of the edge pieces didn't have much lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
It is rather misleading to try a highly rated recipe when there have been so many changes. I followed the changes that apparently everyone said makes it a 5 star recipe. Way too much flour in the filling, and maybe even too many eggs. It was rubbery and pasty. I've had WAY better lemon bar recipes. And I'm not even sure whether to rate the original recipe poorly or the modifications. I figure if the modifications were supposed to make it better (and the modifications were not good), the original was worse? Again, just misleading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I'm not totally convinced I love these, but they aren't bad at all everyone else seems to like them. I only have a 9 X 12 pan which turned out perfect. I ran out of lemons so I added limes (which may have made it more tart). I found that the butter leeched from the base afterwards and still hasn't stopped which made them a little greasy but I think I know where I went wrong there. I first made the recipe as written but I found it WAY too sweet so I followed Gourmetmommy's changes, which were a lot better for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I found these to be quite delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, and had no problems. As others have said, all ovens are different, watch your crust .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I used GourmetMommy's modifications and made my own (that's why it gets only a 3/5) 1. Use a graham-cracker crust (there's a good recipe if you search for it). The dough one got too soggy and nasty after a few days. 2. I followed GourmetMommy's changes exactly: use 6 eggs and 6 tablespoons of flour and DEFINITELY bake at 350 deg. Otherwise, it gets too "done" and tastes REALLY eggy. I've made this 3 times and have it down PERFECT :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Le

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
These were great and VERY easy. My family, friends and coworkers all enjoyed them VERY much. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and I loved them. Just make sure you cut the edges with a knife before they cool or they are very hard to get out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kittygymnast
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
These were awesome! I made them exactly as the recipie directed, and they came out great! I brought them to my gym practice, and people were practiclly fighting over the leftovers! These were very, very easy to make! Definietly making these again! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittygymnast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 960) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States