Bake Sale Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
These are amazing! They're not too sweet and not too tart. We call them "crack bars" because they're addicting. Every time I make them they get eaten within a day or two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Silly me, I didn't bother to read the reviews before baking. I had the oven at 375 - big mistake! I put the crust in for 15 minutes and the rest in for 17, and the edges were very burnt. I cut a big square in the middle and used that as the finished product. They taste fantastic, in my opinion - even the burnt parts. However they could probably use a little more lemon juice. I didn't use any yellow food coloring, and I wish I had, because mine look quite boring and home-made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These are pretty good but the crust seemed a little hard. Next time I will try and cook the crust a little less. Otherwise they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Pretty good flavor...I wouldn't bake them on 375 degrees no matter what. I should have went with my gutt on it....I had a feeling 350 would have been better. Watch closely no matter what temp. you use. I just thought I'd follow the recipe to a T and see what happened. They were pretty well done, not burned but more well done that I would like for a lemon bar, but the flavor was pretty good. Not very lemony/tart, so if that's what you like, then you'll like these. Very thin bar...would like more filling, like double there is on these. Not my favorite recipe for lemon bars, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I gave it 5 stars even thought I altered it a bit! I'm sure the original recipe is quite tasty as well. I added the extra lemon juice(up to 3/4 of a cup) and a little extra sugar like others suggested... but I also folded in some leftover minced, canndied lemon peel. It added an intersting flavour and texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I baked these in a 9x9 inch pan lined with parchment, but otherwise followed the recipe with one exception: I added 1 T cointreau to the filling mix. They came out really well! Very, very easy to make. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Turned out awesome! My husband liked them so much I ended up making them twice in one week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.blanke

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Followed GOURMET MOMMY's advise precisely, and they turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ufa, Bashkortostan Republic, Russia
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I followed the original recipe, the only thing I did different was set my oven for 350. IMO, they came out dangerously delicious. Light, buttery crust, and just the right amount of sweet and tart. Just how I imagined a lemon bar should taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumyum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
As written, not tangy enough for me and it had zero lemon flavor. (to be fair, I want to KNOW I'm eating a lemon bar) Then I made them using the "most helpful" changes. Too eggy. The search continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 958) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States