Bake Sale Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years (this is the same one that is in my grandmas old cookbook) and have had no issues...I don't know what everyone else is doing wrong, but they turn out fine for every time. The only thing I change is the temperature to 350 (that's the temperature in the cookbook). My friends tell me of all the things I make, these are some of their favorites. I encourage you to give the recipe a try just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I made the mistake of going by the rating of the reviews without actually reading them, and I ended up with a wobbly, rubbery, burnt mess. I live in a house of very un-picky eaters, and still could not find a single person to eat them. I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Not too lemony
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I added just one cup of sugar and a few more capfuls of lemon juice. I wanted thicker bars so I put mine in a 9x9 pan and lowered the heat to 350 but kept the same baking time and they turned out great! (On a side note, I too can't stand when people alter the recipe so much that their explanation is longer than the original recipe. Why don't they just submit their own?) I do appreciate reading TIPS and others experiences, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Swayzee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This was my first attempt at lemon bars. I followed the recipe exactly, and they are very tasty. Well, I shouldn't say "exactly." My oven bakes hot, so I always reduce the temp by 25 degrees anytime I bake. Also, my butter was frozen, so I melted it before mixing it with the flour and powdered sugar, and the crust turned out beautifully. I would not want to double the crust for this recipe. They were not too sweet. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because they were not as gooey as I expected a lemon bar to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindymomof3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie_LBGC
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I followed gourmetmommy's suggestions. The only exception I had, was I did not have enough lemon juice so I used about 1/2-3/4 cup lemon juice and the remainder up to 1 cup was lime juice. I also used 3 drops of yellow and 1 drop of green food coloring. Yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie_LBGC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Just Ok. Really needs much more lemon than recipe calls for. I added in twice a much, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I am kicking myself for not having read the reviews first. It DEFINITELY needed less oven heat... I wanted to cry when I saw the dark brown crust... I liked the filling though I should have also added more ingredients, it was too thin... I was dissapointed because we had people over and I really needed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I ended up baking these on my Weber grill because I was waiting for my oven to be fixed and they were AMAZING. My husband took them to work to share with his staff. I'm now baking another batch just for myself! I didn't change a single thing and they came out Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
These are excellent! I have made these twice, and overbaked them twice. I would bake the dough for only 10-15 minutes, bake the lemon bars for 15-20 minutes, and use a glass pan rather than a dark non-stick metal pan. Watch these carefully, because by the time they get light golden brown they are hard around the edges and slightly burned. I would cut the decorative confectioner's sugar down to 1T because they get really messy with 1/3 c. I will keep making this - just baked for less time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisahughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 959) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States