Bake Sale Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I added just one cup of sugar and a few more capfuls of lemon juice. I wanted thicker bars so I put mine in a 9x9 pan and lowered the heat to 350 but kept the same baking time and they turned out great! (On a side note, I too can't stand when people alter the recipe so much that their explanation is longer than the original recipe. Why don't they just submit their own?) I do appreciate reading TIPS and others experiences, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Swayzee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This was my first attempt at lemon bars. I followed the recipe exactly, and they are very tasty. Well, I shouldn't say "exactly." My oven bakes hot, so I always reduce the temp by 25 degrees anytime I bake. Also, my butter was frozen, so I melted it before mixing it with the flour and powdered sugar, and the crust turned out beautifully. I would not want to double the crust for this recipe. They were not too sweet. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because they were not as gooey as I expected a lemon bar to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindymomof3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie_LBGC
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I followed gourmetmommy's suggestions. The only exception I had, was I did not have enough lemon juice so I used about 1/2-3/4 cup lemon juice and the remainder up to 1 cup was lime juice. I also used 3 drops of yellow and 1 drop of green food coloring. Yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie_LBGC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Just Ok. Really needs much more lemon than recipe calls for. I added in twice a much, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I am kicking myself for not having read the reviews first. It DEFINITELY needed less oven heat... I wanted to cry when I saw the dark brown crust... I liked the filling though I should have also added more ingredients, it was too thin... I was dissapointed because we had people over and I really needed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I ended up baking these on my Weber grill because I was waiting for my oven to be fixed and they were AMAZING. My husband took them to work to share with his staff. I'm now baking another batch just for myself! I didn't change a single thing and they came out Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
These are excellent! I have made these twice, and overbaked them twice. I would bake the dough for only 10-15 minutes, bake the lemon bars for 15-20 minutes, and use a glass pan rather than a dark non-stick metal pan. Watch these carefully, because by the time they get light golden brown they are hard around the edges and slightly burned. I would cut the decorative confectioner's sugar down to 1T because they get really messy with 1/3 c. I will keep making this - just baked for less time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisahughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
My 5 year old son and I made these. The filling has good flavor and looks great. The crust is a little plain. It would be better with some lemon zest in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
These are amazing! They're not too sweet and not too tart. We call them "crack bars" because they're addicting. Every time I make them they get eaten within a day or two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Silly me, I didn't bother to read the reviews before baking. I had the oven at 375 - big mistake! I put the crust in for 15 minutes and the rest in for 17, and the edges were very burnt. I cut a big square in the middle and used that as the finished product. They taste fantastic, in my opinion - even the burnt parts. However they could probably use a little more lemon juice. I didn't use any yellow food coloring, and I wish I had, because mine look quite boring and home-made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 956) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States