Bake Sale Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Double the lemon juice. Egg wash (or egg white wash) the dough before baking it so to create a protective film. Otherwise you won't have a crispy dough that contrast well with the chewy cream lemony top. I tried it with Key lime juice and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
My family and I think these turned out great. I have a theory on the burning issue: dont try to make the crust come up the sides to hold the filling - just make it flat on the bottom and cover completely with the filling. I think it will burn if it isn't covered with the filling. I also cooked both a wee bit shorter as my oven is quite hot. Turns out delicious for our tastes. Thank you Elaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. Thank you for sharing. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out awesome! This recipe is a keeper and I will be making it often! Excellent Summer Treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Came out great! Delicious. Didn't change one thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Lovely lemon bar recipe. I made this for a potluck, and they were gone quickly. I baked these in a foil lined pan, which made them easy to remove and cut into perfect pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Best lemon bars I've ever had. My father requests them often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Absolutely the best. I get requests for these every single time I make them. Sweet enough with a perfect tart bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I was hoping for lemon bars that were lemonie. Try a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Great recipe - and all I changed was putting a little vanilla glaze on top instead of more confectioners' sugar. Sweet and yet just enough lemon! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I don't know what went wrong but the recipe was a big FAIL for me. First off there isn't enough lemon mix for the size of pan to be used. I doubled the recipe and it still only made a thin layer. Second, the cooking times are way off. At the recommended cooking times my base was overdone and my lemon section was undercooked - even taking into consideration an altered time as it was doubled. Third, 1/4 cup isn't enough lemon. Sad to see all of my ingredients go to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zumikon, Zurich, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 960) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States