Bake Sale Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
1st of all, when life or friends hand me lemons, what do I do?? Make lemon bars of Course! 2nd of all these were FAB U LOUS! !! I made no changes food wise other then doubling the filling, adding the zest of three Meyer lemons and juicing them. I read to drop the temp to 350, I really think this was the Right call, if you cook those eggs too fast, you might get a rubbery texture and that was something I was Loathe to have hapoen. I did add some salt, just a pinch, to the crust n lemon. Also, not sure why all the fuss about the crust. I made it exactly and just pressed it in the pan. It wasn't sticky either, just crumbled fine. My pan was an aluminum one that was about 9-11 maybe, perfect bar size. So GLAD I doubled that filling too cuz there would have been basically more crust then filling, that would NOT have been good eats! I took the time to line that pan with foil and sprayed it with grapeseed oil. The bars slid right off the foil, no trouble. My hubby n DS really loved them too. Heck even the Dog liked em! Lol These are a keeper for sure! Thank Elaine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I have to admit that I have never enjoyed lemon bars, and would have never thought to seek out this recipe if I had a say in the matter, but sometimes to get ahead you just need to know to do what you are told and my brother never learned that lessons and we all know how well he is doing still looking for work in Kentucky. I guess Scott was right. If you are feeling bold, consider drizzling salted caramel over the tops of these bars and adding a hint of mint and lime to the mixture. Admittedly, it is a wide departure in taste, but I have found that variation is at least on par with the original recipe if not superior along another spectrum. I also find these burn easily if baked for longer than 90 minutes, even at lower temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I accidentally used 1. Whole cup of butter for the crust but they still turned out wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Very good dessert, but I suggest using 1 1/2 tablespoons of zest instead of just 1 tablespoon, to add more of a lemon flavor. Also add 1/4 cup of water to the "crust" dough to make it easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Delicious! add a little more lemon and you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I found these to be very good. Made as is the first time. Wanted a bit more filling, so next time I added an extra 1/3 recipe of filling, baking it just a bit longer. Try the original recipe first THEN give it a 1 star or thumbs down if that is how you feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I really thought this recipe was delicious. I think it is the best I have ever made. I will show this recipe to my family and friends so they can taste how good they are too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Growing up, I abhorred all things citrus dessert, but making these for a friend forced me to try them...after all, a cook shouldn't serve food they themselves have not yet tasted ;) these were delicioso!!!!!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
carrie i had no problems at all and i prepared for 150 servings the recipe says till golden brown if its burnt its has to deal with you not the recipe ive been a chef for 23 years things only burn if you let them and nuber 2 recipes are guidelines not rules you should try to make it yours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Make it for an actual bake sale. Everyone loved them. Made another batch and sent most of them into with husband to work. Got actual thank you emails from his co-workers! And, I made them EXACTLY as the recipe says. They stayed crisp and were excellent. I like how sweet they are because I don't want to eat a bunch of these at one time. Just a small square satisfies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States