Baja-Style Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This recipe has a few steps to it, but the fish tacos were absolutely delicious! I used tilapia in place of the cod, and I didn't have any green onions, other than that I followed the recipe exactly as written. There was an explosion of flavor from the dressing added to the coleslaw! It was really yummy. I had some left over, mixed a bit more sour cream and mayo in it and served it to apply over the tacos if anyone needed more sauce. I have made fish tacos many different ways, from many different recipes, and this one is my new favorite! Will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Spectacular recipe! I made this for my family and my 4 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Loved this recipe! I will definitely make this again. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laural Hildebrand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
we did a variation with a relish of black and garbanzo beans, red and yellow peppers, canned corn, grape tomatoes sliced and fat free Italian dressing... Substitute Greek yogurt for sour cream and usd regular salt and sugar.... yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Having never had a Baja taco cant compare but these are delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
These are absolutely amazing. I've never tasted anything as fabulous as these. The 2 hour wait is totally worth the end result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is a great recipe. I'm not sure why it only has 3 stars. It's delish!! It makes a lot though, since I am cooking for 2 I would cut in 1/2 next time. I thought 2tbsp of salt was a lot so I just put 1tbsp and it came out perfect. Also, I just pan-seared the fish with about 1tbsp of olive oil- I did not deep fry. Fish was very tasty and got a nice sear in my cast iron skillet. And one other thing - for the slaw, I was mixing & adding more slaw mix until I thought the coating for the mayo/SC sauce was thin enough to no be overwhelming. I think I ended up putting a little more than what the recipe called for. End result was great and hubby loved it too. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I thought these were AMAZING! I did cut the chili powder by about a third and used regular sugar because I didn't have any turbinado sugar. Very tasty and the fish had just enough of the tequila flavor. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I made this tonight for dinner, per previous review, marinated for 2 hours, the fish was very delicious, coleslaw was ok but overall we liked it, will tweak it a bit next time. Will broil it instead of frying it. Good recipe, thanks for sharing. I halved the recipe as it was only the 2 of us. :)very tasty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I took others suggestions and used half the chili powder- it could probably use even less. The fish had great flavor. *UPDATE* I've now made this a few times, and I use about 1/3 chili powder (I don't like spicy at all), I let it marinade at least 3 hours and it makes all the difference in the world if you squeeze fresh lime over the taco after it's all ready. For the coleslaw I use plain low fat Greek yogurt instead of the mayo and sour cream. I have done this both fried and grilled, I prefer it grilled...I sprayed a pan with olive oil and cooked it for just about 2 minutes on each side on medium heat. Thanks for such a great fish taco! Very much worth tweaking to suit individual taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States