Baja-Style Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I thought these were AMAZING! I did cut the chili powder by about a third and used regular sugar because I didn't have any turbinado sugar. Very tasty and the fish had just enough of the tequila flavor. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
These taste good, but having lived in Baja and Baja Sur for over two years, I can tell these are not _authentic_ baja-style fish tacos... perhaps they're inspired by the orginal, but there are some weird ingredients in here. Still, though, they do taste well. As a companion to this recipe, people may like this one: http://eauthenticmexicanrecipes.com/taco-recipes/simple-taco-recipe-fried-baja-shrimp-tacos-recipe-tacos-de-camarones-de-baja It's an authentic Baja shrimp taco recipe, using the exact ingredients you'll find at the taco shops From Cabo all the way up to TJ, and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is a great recipe. I'm not sure why it only has 3 stars. It's delish!! It makes a lot though, since I am cooking for 2 I would cut in 1/2 next time. I thought 2tbsp of salt was a lot so I just put 1tbsp and it came out perfect. Also, I just pan-seared the fish with about 1tbsp of olive oil- I did not deep fry. Fish was very tasty and got a nice sear in my cast iron skillet. And one other thing - for the slaw, I was mixing & adding more slaw mix until I thought the coating for the mayo/SC sauce was thin enough to no be overwhelming. I think I ended up putting a little more than what the recipe called for. End result was great and hubby loved it too. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These were pretty good. I've never had fish tacos in a restaurant so I can't compare them to anything. I think they were a little too salty but other than that they were okay. There is a lot of chili powder but you can put in as much as you want. I thought the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iloveak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Complicated. Too salty and not a fan of the mayo in the coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! all my guests wanted copies of the recipe and I would make again in a heart beat. Not too hot or too difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
i am from tijuana B.C. and this is not baja style fish tacos is not tequila it's dark cerveza (negra modelo) is a good brand... and a good fish is "blanco del nilo" or "angelito"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
The coleslaw mix was too heavy with the mayo and sourcream. The way the fish was prepared was not very flavorful. It wasn't the way fresh, fish tacos should taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was delicious! Everyone loved it. I'd use a little less salt next time, but my family all said no, keep it the same. I'm the cook, so I get to do what I want, but I wouldn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Varied it slightly since I had lettuce not cole slaw, but it was very good. I cut down on the salt in the marinade. Served it with a sweet salsa and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States