Baja Stuffed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I am slowly learning that when I have a doubt if I will like a recipe I just have to make it and see. These potatoes are absolutely delicious. I was a bit skeptical about the mexi-corn, because I've honestly never tried it before. But I am so glad I gave it a try because it goes so well with the cheese and potato. I did have to cut down on the heat a little because my family doesn't like things too spicy, but otherwise kept it the same. This will definitely be a keeper in my house. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Excellent potatoes! They did need a little salt, but that can be added after cooking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These were good, although a little bland. I even tried to add some seasoning after reading previous reveiws to do so. I added a little cayene and cumin and also salt & pepper. Could have still stood a little more - will adjust if I make again. My husband really liked them - which is surprising so will probably make sometime again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is my second time making these potatoes. As written, this recipe gets three stars from me, as it is a little bland. These are the changes I made. After baking my potatoes and scooping out the pulp, I mashed the pulp, then added 4 TB. butter and the amount of sour cream called for. I added salt and pepper to my taste which really helped the flavor. I then added two cans of the drained corn and one can of the chilies. I did divide the filling and used cheddar in half of the filling for my kids and pepper jack for my husband and me in the other half. Then, I baked as directed, pulled them out, topped with more cheese, baked 5 more minutes and served. YUM!! I will keep on making this recipe with the changes stated. Oh, I did have some filling leftover and may only use one can of the corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I really wanted to like this, but it just wasn't for me. My potatoes wouldn't stay together while trying to scoop out the inside, so I ended up cutting the potatoes up and mixing everything together. I then threw it all into a casserole dish and baked it for about 20 minutes. As is, this is pretty bland. Definitely needs some seasoning, maybe some chili powder, salt and pepper. I may try it again, but would need to make some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
this was wonderfull my family loved it. I didnt have mexican corn sso I used whole kernal then added a little bit of a red pepper and some green onions. I served it with a steak that I seasond with chili powder, cuman and garlic. I will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I basically followed the recipe but adjusted the spice to my taste. I like my food really, really spicy so I added lots of cayenne pepper and extra hot salsa and it was DELICIOUS!!! I think the recipe as written would have been rather bland for me but thanks for a great idea for potatoes! I'll be making this often now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Very good, but missing the zest needed for five stars. I followed the recipe exactly and found the potatoes kept their baked potato taste. All the cheese and sour cream did not add the flavor I thought it would. I would add a lot more spice next time, and maybe melt cheese on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
i used largely diced potatoes and layered them in a bking pan and baked them for 40 minutes. then i mixed the other ingredients together and stir them into the potatoes and topped with cheese.and baked another 20 minutes. cooking for a crowd and everyone loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I only used two potatoes so I scaled the recipe for just the two. I had frozen corn so I just used some of that. I didn't want too much corn so I ended up guessing what amount might be best. Used a whole can of green chilies. Peeled the potatoes as they weren't looking that great, then mashed them up once they were soft and mixed with ingredients like a casserole. Added some extra cheese on top. Is was kind of bland when I tried it at first so I added a layer of cayenne pepper. This absolutely made the dish! Next time, I'll probably add some jalapenos to the mix and definitely sprinkle a layer of cayenne on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States