Baja Stuffed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I am slowly learning that when I have a doubt if I will like a recipe I just have to make it and see. These potatoes are absolutely delicious. I was a bit skeptical about the mexi-corn, because I've honestly never tried it before. But I am so glad I gave it a try because it goes so well with the cheese and potato. I did have to cut down on the heat a little because my family doesn't like things too spicy, but otherwise kept it the same. This will definitely be a keeper in my house. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Excellent potatoes! They did need a little salt, but that can be added after cooking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These were good, although a little bland. I even tried to add some seasoning after reading previous reveiws to do so. I added a little cayene and cumin and also salt & pepper. Could have still stood a little more - will adjust if I make again. My husband really liked them - which is surprising so will probably make sometime again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is my second time making these potatoes. As written, this recipe gets three stars from me, as it is a little bland. These are the changes I made. After baking my potatoes and scooping out the pulp, I mashed the pulp, then added 4 TB. butter and the amount of sour cream called for. I added salt and pepper to my taste which really helped the flavor. I then added two cans of the drained corn and one can of the chilies. I did divide the filling and used cheddar in half of the filling for my kids and pepper jack for my husband and me in the other half. Then, I baked as directed, pulled them out, topped with more cheese, baked 5 more minutes and served. YUM!! I will keep on making this recipe with the changes stated. Oh, I did have some filling leftover and may only use one can of the corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I really wanted to like this, but it just wasn't for me. My potatoes wouldn't stay together while trying to scoop out the inside, so I ended up cutting the potatoes up and mixing everything together. I then threw it all into a casserole dish and baked it for about 20 minutes. As is, this is pretty bland. Definitely needs some seasoning, maybe some chili powder, salt and pepper. I may try it again, but would need to make some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
this was wonderfull my family loved it. I didnt have mexican corn sso I used whole kernal then added a little bit of a red pepper and some green onions. I served it with a steak that I seasond with chili powder, cuman and garlic. I will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I basically followed the recipe but adjusted the spice to my taste. I like my food really, really spicy so I added lots of cayenne pepper and extra hot salsa and it was DELICIOUS!!! I think the recipe as written would have been rather bland for me but thanks for a great idea for potatoes! I'll be making this often now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Very good, but missing the zest needed for five stars. I followed the recipe exactly and found the potatoes kept their baked potato taste. All the cheese and sour cream did not add the flavor I thought it would. I would add a lot more spice next time, and maybe melt cheese on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
i used largely diced potatoes and layered them in a bking pan and baked them for 40 minutes. then i mixed the other ingredients together and stir them into the potatoes and topped with cheese.and baked another 20 minutes. cooking for a crowd and everyone loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I only used two potatoes so I scaled the recipe for just the two. I had frozen corn so I just used some of that. I didn't want too much corn so I ended up guessing what amount might be best. Used a whole can of green chilies. Peeled the potatoes as they weren't looking that great, then mashed them up once they were soft and mixed with ingredients like a casserole. Added some extra cheese on top. Is was kind of bland when I tried it at first so I added a layer of cayenne pepper. This absolutely made the dish! Next time, I'll probably add some jalapenos to the mix and definitely sprinkle a layer of cayenne on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States