Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Came out a little yogurt-y and blander than I'd hoped. Next time I'll use less yogurt, more jalapeno, and try using japanese eggplants (smaller and sweeter) than the large kind. Still pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariemarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Very bland, not spicy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Very nice. Used garam masala, which did feel like a better fit. Didn't use lemon juice at the end, which in retrospect would probably have made even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Next time I will make it just a little bit spicier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffnben

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Excellent with some turmeric and mustard seeds fried up w/ the ginger/garlic. Added some zucchini and squash to bulk it up. Did a simmer/fry version rather than bake, smelled incredible, tasted the same. Served over green lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyesDeLaSea
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This dish confirms my love for eggplant. I used 1/2 T minced ginger and 1/2 T minced garlic in place of the paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I tripled this recipe so it will be enough for 12 servings. My friends really liked it and thinks it is really authentic! I left out the tomato since one of my friends don't eat tomatoes. It still tastes really good without the tomato. Get some naan from the store! It tastes really delicious with naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifertse10

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Delicious!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is a great recipe for a traditional Indian dish, but you can also get great results with fewer ingredients. My roots are from Fiji; we don't always put masala (curry powder) in veggie dishes. I often omit cumin seeds, ginger, masala and yogurt. Follow the procedure as described, but sprinkle a little lemon juice and ground cumin at the end. Sometimes I cook it down to a smooth consistency and use it as a dip like baba ghanoush (sp?). This is the only way to get my DH to eat eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I liked this very much, but would change a few things when I make it again. It was fairly mushy, probably because my eggplant wasn't big enough. In the future, I will stir fry the eggplant, remove, and then follow the recipe. In the picture, it appears that the skin of the eggplant was left, altho' the recipe calls for removing it. Skin stays on next time I make it (I like eggplant that way). And I like the suggestion about garam masala. Maybe both. Really a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States