Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was quite good! I too, used grated ginger and garlic since I didn't want to work too hard trying to find the paste. I put in Greek yogurt, and...don't hate me..a teensy bit of worcestershire sauce..Parsley because forgot to buy cilantro. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I too just used minced fresh ginger and fresh garlic. I also used greek yogurt because it was all I had--and it still turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I love this recipe. However, to make it more like what I order at the restaurant, I add more oil, and puree it with a hand mixer. I also never have cumin seeds, but regular cumin works just fine, as does pressed garlic and chopped ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I have made this several times now, most recently using an overgrown zucchini instead of eggplant. Great flavor! I too use ginger and garlic separately since I don't have the paste, and I usually add some garam masala. Put the yogurt in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Anne
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I'm Indian and have never liked bhaigan until I tried this recipe! The use of curry powder and yogurt, although not traditional ingredients for this dish, really brings out the taste of the eggplant. This has become my go to eggplant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I only had half a egg plant but i still made it somewhat like the recipe. Only difference is, I used 1/3 cup of yogurt. I also squeezed half a lemon and added some black pepper. It turned out excellent!. Was finished in one sitting:)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I love this recipe and it's one of my meat loving husband's favourites! I do make quite a few modifications, as we like lots of flavour! I usually use 2 eggplants (diced then roasted in olive oil and salt) plus what ever other vege i have handy like cauliflower, beans or potato (also roasted). I double cumin, ginger, garlic and curry powder, use a tin of tomatoes instead of fresh, and add the yogurt as a side on the plate rather than cook it. All these changes probably make it far from authentic, but after making this dish regularly this is how we like it best. Thanks for sharing Yakuta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Came out a little yogurt-y and blander than I'd hoped. Next time I'll use less yogurt, more jalapeno, and try using japanese eggplants (smaller and sweeter) than the large kind. Still pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariemarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Very bland, not spicy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Very nice. Used garam masala, which did feel like a better fit. Didn't use lemon juice at the end, which in retrospect would probably have made even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States