Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I threw 4 cloves of garlic and an inch of diced ginger in a food processor to make garlic ginger paste. The only other change I made was to add the yogurt when it was finished cooking and remove from heat. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Very good. I cut down on the jalapeno and curry because I was worried that it would be too spicy but I wish the end product would have been spicier. Next time will make as written and maybe even add some spice. Hubby liked it even though there was no meat. I used fresh ginger and garlic in place of the paste and less oil, probably closer to 1 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Wonderful and easy recipe. I used garam masala per another reviewers recommendation and the flavor of the dish was great. One concern for next time, I baked the eggplant as directed for 25 minutes and it burst in the oven and the meat of the eggplant was very soft (almost mushy). I will cut down on the time next attempt, or find a firmer eggplant at the market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I made it with the yogurt (for me) and without (for my vegan bf). I have to say, I like it better without the yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This a fabulous dish. Very easy to make and a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was a very good version of this dish. If you like bharta, I think you'll really like it. Good testure, good flavors. I did substitute 1/2 tbsp grated ginger and 1/2 tbsp minced garlic for the garlic/ginger paste. I did not use the garam masala substitution. This recipe may be a 5, but since my personal preferences rated it a 3 (I would rather have mushroom curry), I couldn't give it the 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This absolutely wonderful, I made this and ate the whole thing, LOL Next time I will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosalieC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
this is an amazing recipe!!! I am eating it right now :).. I took one star off for a few reasons. I think there should be 2 eggplant in this. Also, I think coconut milk is more traditional than yogurt, so that's what I used. Like other reviewers, my pan burnt on the bottom during the 10 minutes of high heat. I will definitely be making this again!! I used a 14oz can of tomatoes, but next time would double it :) yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dmphax
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
WOW! First off, thank you for the recipe. Secondly, thank you to all who have made this recipe before for your tips and suggestions! I made a half batch of this recipe. Baked the eggplant for 26 minutes, came easily from the peel with a spoon. I used Olive Oil and I also did the fresh ginger/garlic minced up together (instead of the paste). I stuck to the rest of the recipe as 'laid out'. My only 'complaint' is the 10 minutes at high heat. I was using my large burner with a stainless steel pot. I had the heat at 8 (of 10), and wondered if that was high enough. Well, the mix burned to the bottom of the pot! I lowered to 7 for the remainder of cook time. Even with that 1 'glitch', the end result was fabulous!! I did the yogurt in the mix per the original instruction, and it turned out great! I have leftovers for tomorrow... which I was tempted to eat tonight after 1 serving vanished from my plate. Will make again, thank you so, so much again for this recipe!! Delicious and fulfilling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I really like Baingan Bharta. This is a great dish with just the right kind of spice. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States