Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I used a suggestion and made my own garam masala, and also used cardamon which I bloomed in a pan (cooked it on low with no oil just until fragrant) before I put it into my spice grinder with my ginger and garlic. I also am used to it being prepared pureed so I used an immersion blender to puree it while it was still in the pan. After that I added about a cup of frozen peas to the mix as they thaw quickly and are a nice sweet counterpart to the heat of the spices. Thank You Yakuta for sharing this recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiechef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This recipe was absolutely delicious the 1st time I made it and my husband also loved it. He stated that it was so good that could easily cause one to overeat! I'm now sharing it with my best friend so she can use it with the eggplant I gave her from my garden. I'm sure she and her husband will love it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Really good! Per other reviews, used garam masala instead of curry, & used a can of Ro-tel for the tomatoes/chiles. I might actually use more egg plant next time. One roasted to mush (lol) & one cubed & sautéed. Plain 2% Greek yogurt worked fine for me. I find ginger/garlic paste at the Indian grocery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I used low fat greek yogurt and it did particulate a bit. Adding roasted red peppers to this really enhanced the smoky flavor. Husband loved it. Will make again and try with plain yogurt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I love spicy food, but the jalapeño ruined this dish. It overpowered the other flavors and left our mouths on fire. I would make this again without the jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
this was delicious! went well with a baked ham with mango chutney, some fried potatoes w/cumin seeds and some papadum. will make again. thanks for the post Yakuta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is the dish I always order at Indian restaurants and I honestly didn't think this was going to compare. But it did. I followed all the directions, but substituted garam masala spice (there's a recipe on this site) for the curry and added Cardamom seed, which I often taste in restaurant dishes. It was out of this world! Will be making repeatedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I wouldn't make this again. I used non-fat yogurt, which kind of clumped up and while it tasted ok, it certainly didn't look very appetizing. For my taste it could have also been spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I threw 4 cloves of garlic and an inch of diced ginger in a food processor to make garlic ginger paste. The only other change I made was to add the yogurt when it was finished cooking and remove from heat. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States