Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This was pretty good, but a little too salty. Maybe because I used lowfat yogurt. Next time I'll try less salt and whole milk yogurt. I also felt the recipe lacked a certain brightness but I'm not sure what! Maybe a bit of garam masala would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I loved this dish! Very flavorful and tasty. Here are a few modifications: 1. Keep the eggplant peel. The texture comes out amazing after baking 2. Instead of plain youghurt use greek youghurt thinned with curry+water mix 3. Add zucchini squash cut into quarters lengthwise to the baking dish with eggplant. Cut into both zall the vegetable quarters diagonally across the entire length and sprits with olive oil before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farmakis

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Really good, but doesn't make very much - barely two servings. Also, I wish there were a more precise measurement for the eggplant; it's hard to know exactly how large a "large eggplant" should be, and mine -- the biggest my store had -- only yielded about a cup of eggplant once roasted. When I make it again, I'll double everything except the yogurt (which, in fact, I did add last, since yogurt tends to separate and curdle when heated). Still, really good, and not elaborate or time-consuming once the eggplant is roasted! We'll make this again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
superb. a coworker gave me a dish of this. it wasso yummy i wanted to make my own being a big fan of eggplant. i had her write to name down so i could look it up. love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I make this often and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennstar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hereford, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I made this following the recipe exactly, except I left out the cilantro as my husband doesn't like it. Delicious!! Should have doubled it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
this is so easy to make and tastes amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicadeetle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! I followed most of the directions as written, but had to make one substitution. I couldn't find ginger-garlic paste, so I used a half tablespoon and half teaspoon of minced garlic and a tablespoon of minced ginger in its place. It seemed to work great. The only other suggestion would be to not cook it on high for the ten minutes it's covered. I only cooked it on med-high, and it still burnt to the bottom of the pan. Otherwise, it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This was so good! I made it just as the recipe instructs but did substitute actual garlic and ginger for the ginger garlic paste. This is what I will do with eggplants whenever we have them from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I found this to be a little bland. I used Greek yogurt and it curdled at such high temps. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Gaylord

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States