Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Amazing flavor and so easy. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Love Love Love this! I made some slight changes which I think brought this recipe to the next level. First, I peeled, sliced and salted the eggplant and let it sit on some paper towels for about an hour to get some of the moisture out. I then sauteed the eggplant in some olive oil for about 5 minutes and set aside. Next I got going with steps 3 & 4. I upped the spices by a lot, I never measure spices so I'm not really sure by how much, but at least triple. I used a full 28 oz can of whole peeled tomatoes (I cut the tomatoes up first). Next I added the eggplant back in along with some Seitan I had sitting in the fridge that I needed to use up. Let is cook for probably 20-25 minutes. Served over rice. My hubby said it was one of the best meals I have ever cooked. Can't wait to eat the leftovers for lunch today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westernville, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I make this all the time and you just can't stop eating it. I cut the eggplant in long strips when cooking. Serve this with rice or naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I messed up this recipe cuz I didn't have ginger garlic paste. However, I loved the way it tasted without it, so next time I will have the ginger garlic paste and I have the feeling I will like it even better! Served it to myself over rice (boyfriend doesn't like curry--too bad for him!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
The dish was delicious, no doubt, but there are some problems: 1 eggplant adds almost nothing at all - certainly not enough for 4-6 servings. I had to use 3 eggplants and even though I only doubled (not tripled) the rest of the ingredients, the spice and taste of garlic and ginger overwhelmed the meal. However, the end product still shows enough promise to try some alterations next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
please dont call this a bharta..its anything but bharta.. a good normal curry though i enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
A bit more time than estimated was expended in the preparation (more like 1.75 hrs). Also, not as tasty/spicy as other versions I have tasted in the past. But nice recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prunella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Easy, delicous, healthy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This dish tastes very authentic, cooks perfectly when you follow the directions and is great served with brown jasmin rice. Very good, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I have just started with experimenting with Indian cooking, and this is a great dish for a beginner like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States