Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I just tried out this recipe and it was pretty tasty. I modified it a bit because I forgot to print out the recipe. I chopped the eggplant in small pieces and simmered them in chopped onions, garlic, olive oil, chopped tomatoes, cumin, coriander and ginger. Then I more or less pureed it with a hand blender and then added the plain yogurt. I then served it over steamed vegetables and brown rice. Your recipe came out great nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLAMINGOFLUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Very nice. I cut the oil back to 1 Tbsp, and next time I'll do the same---but use a non-stick pan. I didn't have jalapenos or cilantro---turned out fantastic nonetheless. I followed another reviewer's suggestion to use minced garlic and fresh ginger in place of the ginger/garlic paste. Very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Excellent! My first attempt at a curry dish and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
Excellent! I added mushrooms and substituted pressed garlic and minced ginger (in equal proportions) for the ginger garlic paste. My boyfriend who spent quite a bit of time in India loved it and told me it was the most authentic dish I had made yet. I will be making this again both as a vegetarian and meat based dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
good recipe! I used minced garlic and fresh ginger instead of the paste. I added mushrooms and a can of lentils. I also substituted milk for yogurt and it was fine. Served over brown rice, it was delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
It's not Shalimar, but YUM! I omitted the yogurt and added a touch of milk to keep it from burning. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
This was delicious. Try piercing the eggplant w/ a fork before baking to prevent it from exploding. Also, I added very thinly sliced chicken and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This recipe is fantastic - it just just like what you'd find at a nice Indian restaurant. I only altered it slightly: I used 2 medium sized eggplants and used 1.5 times the spices called for. I also used milk and water instead of yogurt. Be aware that you will need to add a bit of water at the end to keep it from drying out. This was enough to feed four people as a side dish and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Excellent! I made it this weekend, only I used curry paste and minced 4 gloves of fresh garlic. It's very easy to make and it makes the best left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Fantastic! I made some adjustments because of ingredients on hand. I substituted 2 tsp ginger and 2 cloves of garlic for the ginger garlic paste, and I can of diced tomatos instead of fresh tomato. Also, substituted 1/2 cup of fat-free half and half for the yogurt. Delicious over basmati rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States