Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Came out a little yogurt-y and blander than I'd hoped. Next time I'll use less yogurt, more jalapeno, and try using japanese eggplants (smaller and sweeter) than the large kind. Still pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariemarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Very bland, not spicy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Very nice. Used garam masala, which did feel like a better fit. Didn't use lemon juice at the end, which in retrospect would probably have made even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Next time I will make it just a little bit spicier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Excellent with some turmeric and mustard seeds fried up w/ the ginger/garlic. Added some zucchini and squash to bulk it up. Did a simmer/fry version rather than bake, smelled incredible, tasted the same. Served over green lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyesDeLaSea
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This dish confirms my love for eggplant. I used 1/2 T minced ginger and 1/2 T minced garlic in place of the paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I tripled this recipe so it will be enough for 12 servings. My friends really liked it and thinks it is really authentic! I left out the tomato since one of my friends don't eat tomatoes. It still tastes really good without the tomato. Get some naan from the store! It tastes really delicious with naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifertse10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Delicious!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is a great recipe for a traditional Indian dish, but you can also get great results with fewer ingredients. My roots are from Fiji; we don't always put masala (curry powder) in veggie dishes. I often omit cumin seeds, ginger, masala and yogurt. Follow the procedure as described, but sprinkle a little lemon juice and ground cumin at the end. Sometimes I cook it down to a smooth consistency and use it as a dip like baba ghanoush (sp?). This is the only way to get my DH to eat eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I liked this very much, but would change a few things when I make it again. It was fairly mushy, probably because my eggplant wasn't big enough. In the future, I will stir fry the eggplant, remove, and then follow the recipe. In the picture, it appears that the skin of the eggplant was left, altho' the recipe calls for removing it. Skin stays on next time I make it (I like eggplant that way). And I like the suggestion about garam masala. Maybe both. Really a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States