Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by dmphax
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
WOW! First off, thank you for the recipe. Secondly, thank you to all who have made this recipe before for your tips and suggestions! I made a half batch of this recipe. Baked the eggplant for 26 minutes, came easily from the peel with a spoon. I used Olive Oil and I also did the fresh ginger/garlic minced up together (instead of the paste). I stuck to the rest of the recipe as 'laid out'. My only 'complaint' is the 10 minutes at high heat. I was using my large burner with a stainless steel pot. I had the heat at 8 (of 10), and wondered if that was high enough. Well, the mix burned to the bottom of the pot! I lowered to 7 for the remainder of cook time. Even with that 1 'glitch', the end result was fabulous!! I did the yogurt in the mix per the original instruction, and it turned out great! I have leftovers for tomorrow... which I was tempted to eat tonight after 1 serving vanished from my plate. Will make again, thank you so, so much again for this recipe!! Delicious and fulfilling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I really like Baingan Bharta. This is a great dish with just the right kind of spice. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
DELICIOUS! I added a lot of different veggies along with what the recipe called for. I also added about a tablespoon of garam masala. YUM YUM YUM! Served with garlic naan. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
THIS IS SO YUMMY!! I didn't know I could make food like this. I am hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
It was okay. Was a bit disappointed that it wasn't as flavorful as I thought it was going to be based on the reviews. It needed to create some sort of sauce to help complete the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgarts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Not bad. Will cook it again some time but I don't think it will blow away my Indian in-laws who are used to the real stuff. I used garam masala instead of curry powder and added some coconut and brown sugar as our tomatos are pretty tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I felt like this had a bit of a strange consistency. The flavor was very good. I used Greek yogurt, but maybe a yogurt with a more liquidy consistency would have worked better. We served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara Ann
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was really delicious. My family just recently started eating more meatless meals, and this was very filling! Enjoyed by the whole family, even my 1 and 3 yr old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Nice dish. Roasted Eggplant on grill. Used minced ginger, minced garlic instead of paste. (?) Used Garam Masala instead of curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was fantastic. I used it as a topping for Indian pizza: naan + mozz + eggplant curry on top. Scrumptious! I used grated ginger and minced garlic instead of the paste. With Penzeys hot curry powder & the jalapeno it was nice and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States