Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! I followed most of the directions as written, but had to make one substitution. I couldn't find ginger-garlic paste, so I used a half tablespoon and half teaspoon of minced garlic and a tablespoon of minced ginger in its place. It seemed to work great. The only other suggestion would be to not cook it on high for the ten minutes it's covered. I only cooked it on med-high, and it still burnt to the bottom of the pan. Otherwise, it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This was so good! I made it just as the recipe instructs but did substitute actual garlic and ginger for the ginger garlic paste. This is what I will do with eggplants whenever we have them from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I found this to be a little bland. I used Greek yogurt and it curdled at such high temps. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Gaylord

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I used a suggestion and made my own garam masala, and also used cardamon which I bloomed in a pan (cooked it on low with no oil just until fragrant) before I put it into my spice grinder with my ginger and garlic. I also am used to it being prepared pureed so I used an immersion blender to puree it while it was still in the pan. After that I added about a cup of frozen peas to the mix as they thaw quickly and are a nice sweet counterpart to the heat of the spices. Thank You Yakuta for sharing this recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiechef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This recipe was absolutely delicious the 1st time I made it and my husband also loved it. He stated that it was so good that could easily cause one to overeat! I'm now sharing it with my best friend so she can use it with the eggplant I gave her from my garden. I'm sure she and her husband will love it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Really good! Per other reviews, used garam masala instead of curry, & used a can of Ro-tel for the tomatoes/chiles. I might actually use more egg plant next time. One roasted to mush (lol) & one cubed & sautéed. Plain 2% Greek yogurt worked fine for me. I find ginger/garlic paste at the Indian grocery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I used low fat greek yogurt and it did particulate a bit. Adding roasted red peppers to this really enhanced the smoky flavor. Husband loved it. Will make again and try with plain yogurt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I love spicy food, but the jalapeño ruined this dish. It overpowered the other flavors and left our mouths on fire. I would make this again without the jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
this was delicious! went well with a baked ham with mango chutney, some fried potatoes w/cumin seeds and some papadum. will make again. thanks for the post Yakuta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States