Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I used 2 14 oz cans diced tomatoes and 2 large eggplant, several dashes Chipotle tabasco sauce (didn't have any jalapenos). Steamed eggplant in microwave till soft. Instead of yogurt, used 1/4 cup lactaid whole milk. Just cooked several garlic cloves in microwave for 1 min and used ginger, curry, cardamon, and cumin powder. Came out kinda bland. As some people commented, tasted like something was missing. All the spices were there, but realized it needed to cook longer. Let it simmer overnight and it tasted better, still kinda tart from tomatoes. Added 1 tlb splenda and 1 tsp salt, much better, but still eggplant was a little bland. Next time: I'll cook it all together without cooking eggplant first and see if it tastes richer. Will re-submit upon next trial and let you know how it went. I just signed up here and was trying to add a photo of myself and it said something like it had to be 900x900 megapixels on 1 side. Does anyone know what that means? Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
It just needed a teaspoon or so of sugar and a little bit of lemon juice to make it "taste right" by my standards. I did change a few things as well- fresh ginger & garlic, substituted green curry paste for the chili pepper (about a tbsp), I used kefir instead of yogurt (what I had), more salt than was recommended, fresh dill instead of cilantro (again what I had), 1 tsp of sugar and half a squeezed lemon, everything else I followed. It was better than it is at my favorite Indian restaurant. Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This has become one of my favorite dishes of all time. I highly recommend it! We did omit the chiles, and instead of ginger paste, we use ginger spice and garlic from a jar. It tastes so good. I also like to make this with Japanese eggplant because they are less bitter and produce fewer stomach issues than regular eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
So yummy! Although the yogurt separated when I added it and made the texture a bit grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This was pretty good, but a little too salty. Maybe because I used lowfat yogurt. Next time I'll try less salt and whole milk yogurt. I also felt the recipe lacked a certain brightness but I'm not sure what! Maybe a bit of garam masala would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I loved this dish! Very flavorful and tasty. Here are a few modifications: 1. Keep the eggplant peel. The texture comes out amazing after baking 2. Instead of plain youghurt use greek youghurt thinned with curry+water mix 3. Add zucchini squash cut into quarters lengthwise to the baking dish with eggplant. Cut into both zall the vegetable quarters diagonally across the entire length and sprits with olive oil before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farmakis

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Really good, but doesn't make very much - barely two servings. Also, I wish there were a more precise measurement for the eggplant; it's hard to know exactly how large a "large eggplant" should be, and mine -- the biggest my store had -- only yielded about a cup of eggplant once roasted. When I make it again, I'll double everything except the yogurt (which, in fact, I did add last, since yogurt tends to separate and curdle when heated). Still, really good, and not elaborate or time-consuming once the eggplant is roasted! We'll make this again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
superb. a coworker gave me a dish of this. it wasso yummy i wanted to make my own being a big fan of eggplant. i had her write to name down so i could look it up. love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I make this often and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennstar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hereford, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I made this following the recipe exactly, except I left out the cilantro as my husband doesn't like it. Delicious!! Should have doubled it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States