Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
First thank you very much to the reviewer that suggested grated garlic and ginger. I really enjoy the bursts of heat from those. With that being said the dish was really tasty. I added chopped okra for color which was really good. I used coconut oil as my vegetable oil and am considering using coconut milk or a fat free sour cream instead of yogurt. Those substitutions would be strictly for presentation. The yogurt does grain up during cooking as one reviewer said but the flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Takia Washington

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Wow. I liked it. I really didn't think I would, but I did. I even followed the recipe - pretty much - well, the ingredients anyway. :/ I cooked everything stovetop, subbed 1/4t each granulated garlic & ground ginger for the ginger garlic paste. I used 1t ground cumin for the seeds. 'Added 1t curry powder by mistake - instead of 1T. Gee, can I honestly say I followed the recipe? Maybe not. I liked it though. 'Didn't add any yogurt, btw. Oh, tomato was soft so that didn't make it in either. Hmmm ... maybe I should "rephrase the beginning of this review. :? :D Sum up: This is the first Indian dish I've liked. Authentic or not, I'm glad I went for it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Superb! I made it as is! Was delicious, my boyfriend ate everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
My first indian dish. I added more jalepenos cause i like the extra kick. Added potatoes. delicious. Thanks for Sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Delicious! Like others have said, it isn't authentic using curry powder instead of mixing the individual spices yourself, but it is delicious nonetheless (and it made for an excellent shortcut in a time crunch!) This was so delicious not only did my entire family devour it, but my 4 year old who has been going through a picky-spell ate one bite and said "yum!" and then ate it all!! The only thing I did differently was puree the onion with the garlic/ginger so it was all mushy with no chunks. It was so good I'm going to have to double it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SakiFiz
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I like this recipe. I've tweaked it a bit over the few times I've done it. 1) Bake the eggplant longer until really close to mush. 2) Up the amounts of tomatoes. 3) Up the amount of cumin and add garam masala in addition to curry powder. 4) Wait until done cooking to stir in the yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SakiFiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
After having this at a local restaurant I was determined to make it at home. This recipe was easy and the dish was very flavorful served over basmati rice. As others have noted, one eggplant isn't sufficient. I also recommend using garam masala instead of curry. Charring the eggplant on a gas burner for 10 minutes before putting it in the oven lent a smokey flavor to the eggplant. I also cracked the cumin seeds and toasted them in the pan before adding the onion. I like it just with eggplant; I subsequently made it with some diced chicken and that was also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Awesome!!!!! I used garam Marsala in place of curry as suggested by another rater. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States