Bahamian Style Peas and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
As a Bahamian who frequents this site regularly I thought I'd help out by reviewing this recipe. A few substitutions can be made to make this dish more authentic to our country, but all in all it is a good recipe. Tomatoes, ketchup and celery can be added, but for the most part they aren't included. An ingredient that is normally included but wasn't listed here is diced green bell pepper. Try adding maybe a half of a pepper or a whole one if you really like it. Also, instead of using fresh thyme, we'd normally let it dry out before cooking with it for a stronger flavor. Pigeon or black-eye peas can also be substituted for canned kidney beans if you can't find either, although we'd call that 'Bean 'n Rice' instead :-) Now all you need is some baked macaroni with your favorite meat or fish and you're all set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krys_L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Freeport, Bahamas
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I haven't tried the recipe yet, but my husband was born and raissed in the bahamas and I have made this many times. The critique I would have is that there is way to much tomatoe paste used in the recipe. I've always been told to use about 1/4 of the small can. (you can freeze the rest) No ketchup or tomatos has ever been added. Be careful with the Thyme, it is a strong herb. Black eyed peas is another name for the pea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This recipe is closest to how my Bahamian friend prepares his. Instead of bacon he used small cubes of salt pork, sauteed until brown. He then added the chopped onion and garlic. After the onions were cooked, about one or two minutes he stirred in a can of tomato paste, no tomatoes. about a cup of washed white long grained rice, then enough water to just cover the rice. He set the heat on low and just let the rice cook slowly until all liquid was absorbed. He then fluffed the rice, adding the peas at the end. He flavored it also with salt (did not need much) and thyme. This is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
Excellent Recipe! Just like we had in the Bahamas! I found the pigeon peas in the Goya section at the grocery store. I used tomato sauce instead of paste since I had an open can. This made a HUGE skillet full. I served it with some mexican fare, and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This recipe is pretty close to what I ate while I lived in Nassau. It is definitely missing the minced green pepper and it has more tomato flavor than normal. I'd cut out the ketchup and tomato and just do the tomato paste. But other than that it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADKgal
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
My husband is from the Bahamas and I have yet to find a recipe that is most like his. This one is missing a few ingredients such as the coconut milk and the salt pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This recipe turned out quite well, and made a LOT for just my husband and I. It didn't taste like what I remember our Puerto Rican neighbor making as a child, which is what I was looking for, so though I probably wouldn't make it again, it was still a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
Excellent-quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Although I never been to bahamas, I am glad to have stumbled onto this recipie. Being tired of the same old white rice time after time, I was looking for something different and easy to make. I followed it exactly exept for the celery. I had none so I added roasted red peppers instead. I could have added the green pepper instead as another reviewer said, but I don't really like green peppers. Anyway, my family loved it and so did I. I will be making this again. P.S. I don't know what the person who said that the tomato paste simmered to the top. You must have done something wrong because this turned out nicely cooked and fluffy. Thanks for the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This rice was not good at all! It could have used more flavor and all the tomato ingredients simmered to the top of the rice. I just wasn't pleased at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States