Bahamian Style Peas and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Very good. I added the pigeon peas towards the end so they wouldn't dry out. This recipe gives the rice a very good flavor. I will make again, but next time I will use a different bean because my husband wasn't fond of the pigeon peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
My husband loves peas and rice and has been asking for me to find a good recipe - as so many do not taste authentic. This was a great recipe that he actually loved and the rest of the family did too - even though he and I are the only ones that are fans of carribean food. Grandma and son liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Well I made no changes and we have eaten this 4 times in the last 4 weeks....great recipe and it goes real well with my Jerk Chicken and Sauteed Plantains....Thanks a bunch for the recipe. It is a keeper my husband says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Pretty darn good but I like my rice a bit less...soft. Cut back about a 1/4 cup on the water or omit the fresh tomato. And I swapped the celery for a cubanelle pepper, as I was taught in Georgetown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
As a Bahamian who frequents this site regularly I thought I'd help out by reviewing this recipe. A few substitutions can be made to make this dish more authentic to our country, but all in all it is a good recipe. Tomatoes, ketchup and celery can be added, but for the most part they aren't included. An ingredient that is normally included but wasn't listed here is diced green bell pepper. Try adding maybe a half of a pepper or a whole one if you really like it. Also, instead of using fresh thyme, we'd normally let it dry out before cooking with it for a stronger flavor. Pigeon or black-eye peas can also be substituted for canned kidney beans if you can't find either, although we'd call that 'Bean 'n Rice' instead :-) Now all you need is some baked macaroni with your favorite meat or fish and you're all set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krys_L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Freeport, Bahamas
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I haven't tried the recipe yet, but my husband was born and raissed in the bahamas and I have made this many times. The critique I would have is that there is way to much tomatoe paste used in the recipe. I've always been told to use about 1/4 of the small can. (you can freeze the rest) No ketchup or tomatos has ever been added. Be careful with the Thyme, it is a strong herb. Black eyed peas is another name for the pea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
awww yea now thats the stuff:-}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Very yummy....I did add a little extra salt at the end. Would definately make again! Reminds me of our trip to the Bahamas! Thanks to the review who mentioned the pigeon peas can be found in the Goya section!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This rice was not good at all! It could have used more flavor and all the tomato ingredients simmered to the top of the rice. I just wasn't pleased at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This recipe turned out quite well, and made a LOT for just my husband and I. It didn't taste like what I remember our Puerto Rican neighbor making as a child, which is what I was looking for, so though I probably wouldn't make it again, it was still a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States