Bahamian Baked Grouper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I did not marinate the filets, instead I simply poured lime juice on them added the veggies and popped them in the oven. I cooked it exactly the same amount of time and at 350, but the filets were a bit dry... Maybe 10-15 minutes less would have worked better? The flavor was nice with the onion, tomatoes and peppers. Light and healthy. I would just check it earlier than leaving it for a full hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SlyChikadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly as written. The baking time was far too long. It left the fish overcooked and dry. It also overcooked the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Great recipe. Used on Taliapia instead of grouper. The lime taste was a bit overwhelming for this fish. Overall a great recipe for a great dinner. I had it with pineapple rice casserole and the tart taste from the lime was offset by the sweetness of the pineapple. Thanks Kristal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Simple and delicous. Just my kind of recipe. I've made this several times and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Fantastic! Light, flavorful, and healthy! I marinated the fish (tilapia) in the pan overnight and then just threw the vegetables on top, salted, and baked. Goes perfectly with a side of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Nice flavor. I used tilapia instead of grouper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
this dish is savoury and goes great alongside garden rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I thought this recipe was amazing, first of all this is such an easy recipe! Secondly, I loved that I didn't have to fry this fish to get a nice flavor. The lime does a good job of getting that fishy smell and taste out of the fish. I would definitely recommend staying with the grouper, or any white fish that flakes in big chunks, as the grouper did a fantastic job staying together after baking. I did make a few minute adjustments: I did not marinate and the fish came out superb! No real reason, I saw the recipe that day and didn't have time to marinate as suggested. I skipped the bell peppers, didn't have any on hand. I didn't use red pepper flakes, afraid it'd be too spicy for the kids, instead I used a regular fish seasoning I've had for forever, with a touch of salt. As far as the time, 25 minutes was all I needed! The fish was moist, flavorful, and easy! Love this fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Freeport, Bahamas
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I used flounder instead, baked it for 20 minutes and it was still a bit cold yet overcooked and the flavor from being marinaded in lime juice was not very good. I will not make this one again, even if i use grouper as suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Cooking time far too long. Good taste but cooking time should be 17 minutes @350F!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States