Bahama-Mama Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Great recipe. I saw a review say they would like to see more vegetables with it so this is what I did; I sliced green bell pepper and sweet onion really thin and sauteed them with some garlic in the vegetable oil first, then I added the pork chops and browned them. This added excellent flavor and the bell pepper and onion complemented the pineapple beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I increased the brown sugar to 2T and used Hoisin instead of chili sauce. The flavour was great although I did overestimate the strength of the Hoisin and only substituted 2T, next time I will increase to ½ C. I let 5 boneless pork loin chops simmer for more than a half hour to ensure tenderness. Just before serving I quickly sautéed ½ a red pepper and ½ a white onion, both chopped into bite sized chunks, and added it to the pork. I will also add a teaspoon more of cornstarch next time as I felt the sauce was a little too thin for the ¾C yield of reserved juice. It really was an eye pleaser and a deliciously sweet indulgence… k
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
We thought that these were pretty good. I don't like cooked raisins so I used dried cranberries, as someone had suggested. I also saw reviews to double the sauce. I used a large can of pineapple, kept the chili sauce the same and it was just enough. I Also used a green pepper diced and an onion diced. I cooked them with the chops and added the sauce to them. Overall a good tasting pork recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
My roommate and I tried this one night because we happened to have both pineapple and pork. It was great! We liked the sauce so much that we ate the extra straight off a spoon. Its so different from most sauces! --We used cayenne pepper and added some orange-pineapple juice to make up the difference in liquid level (no chile sauce in the cupboard, sadly) and it came out fine. We followed others' advice and doubled the pineapple. Note that the pinapple absorbed a lot of pepper and tasted quite spicy (we liked it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
This stuff is good! The only changes I made were leaving out the raisins (DH doesn't care for them) and adding onion and green bell peppers. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. We just finished eating, and I'm fighting myself to keep from eating the one chop that was leftover! Served with my own baked rice (the sauce is delicious withi rice) and Southern Fried Cabbage from this site. This will be on my regular rotation. It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
My husband's reaction to his first bite was "Mmmmmmmmm". We both really loved this. It is similar to sweet & sour pork. I also love the raisins in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I'm not a lover of sweet food but this was very good and the rest of my family does like sweet on occasion - we must comprimise!!!! They voted that this is a keeper and it was so easy to make. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and used a large can of pinapples and added 3/4 of the juice to the sauce mixture - next time I might use it all since I found that the sauce mixture was starting to stick to the bottom of the pan at the end of 15 minutes. Thanks for the recipe Chrstine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Good enough to make again, but something isn't right. I'm going to play with it. Don't get me wrong, it's very good, but needs tweaking for our tastes. To the reviewer, Amanda. There is nothing hot in this recipe. I suspect you used hot sauce instead of chili sauce, which is made by Heinz and has ketchup and spinces in it, but is not at all hot. DO NOT USE HOT SAUCE IN THIS RECIPE IN PLACE OF CHILI SUACE! That must have been a burning meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
These pork chops are delicious - I would not recommend changing a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
The whole family loved this one-not your every day porkchop here.Really tasty and very easy to prepare. I like to serve this one to dinner guests as well-but I don't like sharing the recipe!! Thanks Again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States