Bahama-Mama Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
I increased the brown sugar to 2T and used Hoisin instead of chili sauce. The flavour was great although I did overestimate the strength of the Hoisin and only substituted 2T, next time I will increase to ½ C. I let 5 boneless pork loin chops simmer for more than a half hour to ensure tenderness. Just before serving I quickly sautéed ½ a red pepper and ½ a white onion, both chopped into bite sized chunks, and added it to the pork. I will also add a teaspoon more of cornstarch next time as I felt the sauce was a little too thin for the ¾C yield of reserved juice. It really was an eye pleaser and a deliciously sweet indulgence… k
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
I thought this was great! I only used half the chili sauce because I thought it would overwhelm the other flavors. I also used golden raisins. Very unique flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This is a great recipe, taste is superb, my family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
My family thought this was just ok. I used golden raisins. My chops were very thick and I pre-cooked them at 350 for 30 minutes in the oven. They were very tender but the flavor didn't cut it for us. There seems to be confusion over the 'chili sauce'. Chili sauce is tomato puree, vinegar and corn syrup. I buy the Heinz brand from the condiment aisle. Add a few tbsp to ground beef before making hamburgers. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Just made this and it is really good. I skipped the raisins,and the rice, I used bow-tie pasta instead. I used a chili sauce called "Maggi" and it had nice little kick to it. Next time I plan to use chicken and rice. really good,thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
Delicious, simple. I used the thick pork chops and loved it. The chili sauce ingredient was kind of a mystery so we're experimenting with different things. Going to make it again tonight using Thai chili sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
this was a great recipe.love fruit with pork. the only change for the next time i would season my pork .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
After searching for something quick but new and different to do with pork chops - THIS IS AWESOME - I followed recipe with one exception - I cut back by half the cinnamon. I love to cook "Gourmet" on the weekends, but am always looking for quick but interesting things to do on weeknights. My husband and son agree it's definitely one of our new favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
will definitely make again. very good...add extra pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
These were a huge hit with my husband who doesn't like pork chops! I left out the raisins since no one in my family likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States