Bahama-Mama Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Very good! I had to make a slight change since I didn't have any pineapple. I used mandarin oranges instead, and added some extra rice wine vinegar. Also used the chili sauce recipe from this site. I doubled the sauce, as was suggested by other reviews, now I have enough pork and sauce left over to serve a second meal! That's always a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
My family and friends loved this recipe! I added 1 chopped green pepper and 1 cup of chopped mushrooms to make the recipe more filling. I used golden raisins. I doubled the amount of pinneaple. I added more chili sauce (mild red enchilada sauce), pineapple juice, and brown sugar to compensate for the added ingredients. Thin boneless pork chops worked well with this recipe. I served the porkchops and Bahama- Mama mixture over steamed white rice. I also sprinkled shredded coconut on top for an extra tropical flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Goff/ San Antonio, Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I made this recipe for dinner last night, and it was GREAT! I am a chronic multi-tasker, so the only change I made was after following the recipe, I put the pork chops and sauce in a baking pan in the oven uncovered for 45 minutes rather than cooking in the skillet. This allowed me to take care of other pressing things without worrying about burning dinner. =) I will definitely make this recipe again, but I think I'll tone down the tartness next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
very good. made as recipe states. the only thing i might change next time i make it is less chili sauce, more pineapple, and some red bell pepper. thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. I think the next time I make it, I will try marinating the chops for an hour or so In the sauce before I cook them to get them even more flavorful. Definitley will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This sooo yummy! I sort of doubled the sauce as I always do with recipes like this, used a large can of pineapple and almost a whole bottle of chili sauce, upped all other ingredients proportionally. Good thing that I did, the sauce is fantastic! And I am glad that I read some of the reviews, as I knew chili sauce only as the very spicy Asian variety. Get the "Heinz" as mentioned by a previous reviewer, it's perfect for this recipe. My husband not only had seconds but thirds, and I couldn't stop dipping my finger into the sauce before it ever hit the stove. Oh, and the pork came out nice and juicy as well. A perfect match!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Excellent meal! Although, I had to change it a bit because I didn't have the 'chili sauce'. I used BBQ sauce instead. Still tasted delicious, even my picky husband said it was excellent. I served it with scalloped potatoes and Cole Slaw (for a change from lettuce salad). The best meal this week, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bisbee, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
My husband love it and he is a very picky eater... The sauce is amazing...one person suggested it over chicken. Next time we will definelty try it. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by digginit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
My boyfriend enjoyed this. I thought it was ok. I used crushed pineapple and a mix of salsa and asian chile sauce. Also added chopped onion and garlic. I'm sure it would taste better over rice. We only had pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Was well received - a nice quick meal. I added a handful of chopped onions and 1 chopped bell pepper because I needed to use them up. I also used a larger can of pineapple. Served with rice. I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States