Bahama-Mama Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I have made this twice and my husband and I LOVE it! I cut up the pork before I brown it so that they are the same size as the pineapple chunks, works better over rice. I have also cut up a pork tenderloin and used that. I leave out the raisins, or else hubby wouldn't eat it...but other than that I make it to the tee and love ever bit of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
This stuff is good! The only changes I made were leaving out the raisins (DH doesn't care for them) and adding onion and green bell peppers. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. We just finished eating, and I'm fighting myself to keep from eating the one chop that was leftover! Served with my own baked rice (the sauce is delicious withi rice) and Southern Fried Cabbage from this site. This will be on my regular rotation. It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
i was pleasantly suprise how delicious this is. My family loved it, even my four year old liked it, which is no easy feat. It is easy to prepare. I do suggest if using a thicker cut of meat to tenerizing it first, using a mallet or boiling the meat. I doulbed the brown sugar and pineapple. I was skeptical about the chili sauce but it really make the dish (don't leave it out.) I used golden raisin. I also kick it up and added cayenne pepper and crushed red pepper. Te sauce is so good, that I saved the leftover to use as a barbeque sauce. Try this recipe using chicken, it's great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Very easy prep, but we didn't like it enough to fix again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This was good, but could use a little "kick", maybe some red pepper flakes. Best thing about this recipe is how quickly you can throw this together. I served it over rice, and it reminded us of sweet and sour pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This was good enough. Easy to make, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Made this for my family and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
We really enjoyed this dish, Christine. Used 3/4" boneless pork loin chops, so I ended up having to simmer my dish for about an hour and a half till all was tender. To the sauce, I added 1/4 cup of orange juice, a splash of rice wine vinegar, a good dash of cayenne and a pinch of nutmeg. I used crushed pineapple. I browned the chops in canola oil, and seasoned them well with granulated garlic and both Lawry's Seasoned Salt and Pepper. Like others, I added a diced bell pepper, 1/2 of a yellow onion and sauteed for awhile; then added 3 Tbsp. minced garlic from the jar and a bunch of sliced scallions. Used golden raisins, and along with the cinnamon flavor, I think that's what really made this dish. I was pleasantly surprised by how well this went over at our house. Served with brown rice and mixed veggies (carrots, mushrooms, baby corn, whole snow pea pods and broccoli). Thank you so much for this recipe, as I will be adding it to my permanent file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
First of all, I really loved this dish. But, I did make several adjustments. I added a large can of pineapple chunks with the juice. Added a bit of extra cornstarch because of the extra liquid (I'm glad I did). Added the same amount of chili sauce the recipe calls for. After mixing the sauce ingredients, tasted and found it to be a bit too "ketchupy" for my liking, so added about 3 tablespoons of mild salsa. Also added some green onions to the sauce. I used 5 VERY THIN pork chops and browned them without oil, just used a bit of water to deglaze the pan. Also added some green and yellow bell peppers while the chops were browning. After adding the sauce, simmered for about 20-25 mins. I wish I had taken a picture, because this is a very pretty dish! My husband ate it all!!! I will definitely experiment a bit more with this recipe and recommend it to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariluh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponce, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
We thought that these were pretty good. I don't like cooked raisins so I used dried cranberries, as someone had suggested. I also saw reviews to double the sauce. I used a large can of pineapple, kept the chili sauce the same and it was just enough. I Also used a green pepper diced and an onion diced. I cooked them with the chops and added the sauce to them. Overall a good tasting pork recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States