Bahama-Mama Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I LOVED this recipe! I didn't give it all the stars because I did make just a couple minor changes, only based on the fact that I didn't have all the exact ingredients. I used fresh pineapple and squeezed a few slices to get the juice I needed. I also made my own chili-type sauce using tomato sauce, chili powder, sugar, and pepper. I also didn't have cornstarch, but thought I would just leave it runny. However, my husband begged for it to be thickened, so I added a few tsps of flour and whisked it into the warm sauce - no lumps and it thickened perfectly. This was just wonderful. I loved the addition of the raisins and the cinnamon to the sauce -- added a new dimension. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is really easy and very tasty. My husband loves these chops and always hopes I cook extra so he can lunch on them the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
added onion & green pepper & added the raisins on top of it instead of cooking them like a garnish. It was a hit. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Everybody in the family liked this and it really was on the table in 35 minutes! Good just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Very Very Very Good. I needed something different and this was Perrrrfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very, very nice change to regular pork chops - served up with white rice and corn niblets. Only change was to add diced red pepper, onion and minced garlic during simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was good, it didn't amaze us but it has a nice blend of flavors. I did have to make a couple changes because of what I had on hand (or didn't have). I used craisins instead of raisins, and some rum for part of the chili sauce. Also I added way too much pineapple since I realized the can was larger than called for after they were added. It still came out fine and we'll make it again. I served it over coconut brown rice (rice made w/ coconut milk), great combo of sweet n spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Didn't so much care for this recipe. Not sure if it was too sweet or what it was. Might try it again, just to see. Because it sure sounds yummy, so maybe we didn't make it quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Pretty sweet, but very flavorful. My family gave mixed reviews, but I thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I'm not sure how to rate this recipe. When I made it, I thought it lacked something. It was pretty good but I probably would not make it again. Then the next day I had the leftovers and they were WONDERFUL!!! I did add peppers and onions, and used dried cranberries instead of raisins. For chili sauce, I used an oriental chili garlic sauce which added just enough kick to it (maybe that's what took a while to develop its flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States