Bagels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Changes: 1 tbs of baking soda + 2 tbs of honey in the water for simmering in place of sugar. Left the bagels simmering 2 to 3 minutes. Topped with sesame seeds and some Kosher salt. Great results: nice color and good flavor. Next time I will leave the dough overnite in the fridge for a more intense flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Piracicaba, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
OK- I love to bake, but am not the best baker. I followed this recipe after the comment of half WW flour and half AP flour. I got an amazing workout with the kneading- thanks! I need that! But the end result!? I even sweated some onions and melted a small bit of butter as a glaze- and it was not good. It tastes like bland yeast with a delicious outer shell. I so wanted this to work since quality bagels are so hard to come by where I've moved (Hawaii.) And I love to bake! My ego and my tastebuds are thoroughly shamed....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Totally impressed with this! Never made bagels before, never made bread before either and they turned out unbelievable! Jewish girl living in Sweden, impossible to find them here and now I can make my own! I did follow several reviewers and when forming the bagels just made rounds and then punched a hole with my thumb. Turned out great! Crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside! Perfect! I made several non-traditional ones with parmesean and garlic- soooooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was my first time making bagels and it was a success. I live in Brazil and can only find them in one market (sometimes) which is pretty far from my house. The changes I made were: added 2 tablespoons of honey and teaspoon of baking power to the boiling water and boiled about 6 minutes then I dipped them in cool water and rolled in chopped onions which I baked in the oven for 10 minutes before (I didn’t let them brown because they will brown while the bagel is baking). I loved them! They were dense and not very puffed up but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was my first attempt at bagels and although they look like bagel shop rejects when I was done with them, they were mighty tasty! It was late at night, so I didn't take as much care with the dough as I should have which is why they didn't look so great, but I did 50/50 white and whole wheat flour, and put sesame seeds on top. Very good! I will not buy another bagel again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Made this pretty much by the recipe and they turned out delicious...could pass as fresh bagels from your favorite gourmet bagel shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
We really enjoyed these! The dough was hard to work with... had to have the boyfriend do the heavy kneading as I am wimpy and the dough is quite tough. Next time may used the kneader function in my bread machine instead. Also, rolling the dough into ropes was a bad idea for us: it made it hard for us to shape them into cohesive round bagels. We ended up just cutting the remainder of the whole big loaf into 9 sized cubes, shaping that into a ball (instead of rolling it into a rope and then shaping it into balls), and poked the holes in the middle. Otherwise, yum! Also... if you haven't figured out how to steam bake, we used our cast iron skillet, let it sit in the hot oven on the lowest rack while it was warming up, then right as we put the bagels in we threw some water into the skillet and shut the door as fast as we could to keep the steam in. Worked fine for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I searched everywhere in Athens, Greece for a bagel, but nowhere could I find one! Only Souvlaki lovers, it seems, dominate the food market! So, what could I do? I was craving bagels and cream cheese for months. I just had to have one so I saved the cost of a round-trip ticket back to the States and made my own! It was the first time I had baked bagels, and this recipe did not fail! Well, I might need a bit more practice with the aesthetic appearance of my bagel, but the the taste was perfect! I used stone ground flour that comes from a special mill in Meteora! Next time, I will try mixing flours; 1/2 white, 1/2 yellow, for a bit firmer texture. I will definitely make them again. They are especially good toasted. Maybe I should open a bagel shop here in Athens! What do you think?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athensbay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
PERFECT...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Maybe I'm doing something wrong but I tried this several times and the bagels came out extremely dense and not very tasty, if they made it through the boiling without falling apart. I wouldn't recommend this. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States