Bagels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2000
Great Recipe! Easier than I thought. I split the flour 50/50 Whole Wheat/Unbleached and made a batch of great WW Bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2000
I live in Brazil and one of the things I love most about going to the US is eating bagels (we don't have them here) so I was searching for a recipe and I found a great one! Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2000
Wonderful!! Me and my family (especially the kids) absolutley loved these bagels. Toasty on the outside and chewy inside. Great recipe a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
they came out shaped more like rolls, with the whole closed in and they had risen so much they were as tall as they were wide. but they do taste like bagels (not bread like some recipes ive tried), everyone liked them. I made poppyseed, sesame, and cinnamon sugar using the leftover topping from "best ever blueberry muffins" on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
I had never thought to make bagels before, but I'm glad I did because they were delicios. Especially with a bit of kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I've tried other bagel recipes on this site, but this one turns out the most beautiful. It tastes a bit on the bland side, so next time I plan to add more salt and onion powder. Also, they did not need to be baked as long as directed. I left mine in for the full 20 minutes and they are a bit too dark for my liking. Next time only 10-15 minutes should do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
These bagels turned out great!! I only used 6 cups of the flour and let it proof a bit longer (30 mins) until it had that nice yeasty smell and brushed the top with egg white (1 white and 1 tbsp water) gave it that nice glossy look. GREAT!!! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
The recipe was very easy to follow and make, however my topping, which was a cinnamon sugar mixture, caused them to burn. Be sure to watch them carefully, as they seem to take less time than the recipe says. I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Of all the bagel recipes I've come across this is the best! Some different flavours I like are: pesto and pine nut; all grain (red river cereal); banana chocolate chip; cinnamon raison. I don't use any mixers other than my hands ... that way I know if the dough is right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This receipe was easy to follow. My bagels were nice and chewy on the inside and my son said they were definitely better than the ones from the store. I did make a mistake by adding all 7 cups of flour in the beginning, and had awfully dry dough--naturally. But I just added some more water and was able to get the dough back to where it needed to be and everything turned out fine. Also, I didn't use the rope method to form the bagels, I just divided the dough into 12 balls and then stuck my finger through each to make a center hole and shaped the bagel from there. I can't wait to experiment with different toppings and additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States