Bagels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2000
Great Recipe! Easier than I thought. I split the flour 50/50 Whole Wheat/Unbleached and made a batch of great WW Bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2000
I live in Brazil and one of the things I love most about going to the US is eating bagels (we don't have them here) so I was searching for a recipe and I found a great one! Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2000
It was fun to make, but didnt taste nearly as good as homemade bagels should. Lacked the yeasty full flavor but was nice and crusty and chewy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2000
Wonderful!! Me and my family (especially the kids) absolutley loved these bagels. Toasty on the outside and chewy inside. Great recipe a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
One of the better bagel recipes I've come across
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
I had never thought to make bagels before, but I'm glad I did because they were delicios. Especially with a bit of kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
I am willing to accept that I did something terribly wrong when I made these, although I cannot say what exactly. I think I'll use less salt next time to see what happens. They simply didn't rise or proof like I expected, even though my yeast turned out fine for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I've tried other bagel recipes on this site, but this one turns out the most beautiful. It tastes a bit on the bland side, so next time I plan to add more salt and onion powder. Also, they did not need to be baked as long as directed. I left mine in for the full 20 minutes and they are a bit too dark for my liking. Next time only 10-15 minutes should do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
they came out shaped more like rolls, with the whole closed in and they had risen so much they were as tall as they were wide. but they do taste like bagels (not bread like some recipes ive tried), everyone liked them. I made poppyseed, sesame, and cinnamon sugar using the leftover topping from "best ever blueberry muffins" on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Will not make again. The flavor was okay but nothing great by all means. The whole shaping thing did not work at all. I ended up with more like bagel sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States