Bagels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was my first attempt at making bagels and they turned out great. Very easy and tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Not bad bagels at all. This is my first try, but they are pretty good. If you are cooking the bagels at 500 degrees, make sure you check on them often so they don't burn to the pan. I'll make these again and try cinnamon and sugar. Maybe even blueberry bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was the best bagel ever...I used the allrecpes.com method of shaping them, they were very ugly but tasted wonderful! I boiled them 3 minutes on each side. only cooked for 13 mins. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYCAKESAZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Did all but the last minute of kneading with my KA - thank goodness! I had to use light-tasting olive oil since that is all I had. I halved the recipe but used a full packet of yeast, and used bread flour. Oh and I gave them a cool water bath before baking. The result was delicious chewy bagels that tasted a little yeast-y (which I love!) and got pretty darn big. This was my first time making bagels, so I formed 2 as suggested, then the other 4 I followed allrecipe's article on bagel forming. I recommend any fellow novices to do it allrecipe's way; the other 2 came apart during the boiling. (But taste wasn't affected :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Very good! I used to work at a bagel store in NJ when I was growing up. These are pretty darn close...especially for being made in a home kitchen! The recipe is great as is...the only thing I noticed was that if you use sesame seeds, as I did, they have a tendency to burn--especially if there's too much oil on your baking sheet. Other than that minor tweak, these were FANTASTIC! I thought these would be much more complicated than they were--a really pleasant surprise. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I made this as-written and thought they were wonderful! Much better than the prepackaged bagels at the grocery. I tried various toppings, sesame seeds, poppy seeds, onion flakes, chives, and garlic powder. All were great! I used my Kitchen Aid Artisan stand mixer. If you try this recipe with the same mixer, you'll have to divide your dough ball in half and mix them separately. It's just a little too much for this model of Kitchen Aid to handle. Also, steam baking does not mean you spritz water on the bagels while they're in the oven. It means you place a separate baking dish under the sheet with the bagels and fill it with boiling water from the tea kettle. Then you let the bagels bake with the water pan underneath them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
this was a fantastic recipe. I made it, but with garlic powder and onion powder in with the flour before mixing, and added seeds to the top. Made an excellent everything bagel! At the same time, I made a dozen cinnamon raisin bagels (2 tsp. cinnamon + 1 c. raisins) FANTASTIC!!! word of warning though... never ever trust no-stick baking sheets... guaranteed to stick EVERY time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Mmmmmm... just made my first batch, and they are so good! Crispy outside and chewy inside, I don't know if I'll every buy bagels again. Recipe is straightforward and easy. I used about a teaspoon of salt instead of the tablespoon called for, and will add it for my next batch. Which might be as soon as tomorrow, I'm sure my hubby and kids will have these gone by morning! Thanks for a stellar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
wow...this is my first attempt at making bagels and we LOVED them. Added cheddar cheese to a couple and they were great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
A WOW bagel! I used safflour oil - love the sweet nutty taste it imparts; and I brushed the bagels with egg white+water. They turned out terrific - nice and crusty golden crust and so yammi and soft inside. Btw, I tried the same recipe with half whole wheat and had to dump that - for some reason didn't rise, didn't work at all for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States