Bagels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
We love this recipe! I made them and put them in a bag in the fridge, it took us about 2 weeks to eat them all and the last ones were still good and soft. Much better than the recipe I had been using before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised with how easy this was. I used my stand mixer and dough hook, and hardly had to do any work at all! The dough was very easy to work with, not sticky. I halved the recipe and topped two with garlic powder and onion, two with cinnamon and sugar, and left two plain. The cinnamon and sugar were the favorite. I was not blown away by these, they really tasted like fresh bread to me, but they were very good. The kids have already asked me to make them again, so I guess I will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jlpearson04
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Made these and followed the recipe exactly. Turned out awesome. I topped 1/2 with asiago cheese and left the other half plain. Very easy recipe for people who love bagels and want to try to make some at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gertrud
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made this recipe this morning. I followed the directions to a T until the end. I had trouble shaping the bagel. The two ends of the rope would not stay together properly, so I shaped the rest of them by flattening the ball and then putting my thumb through the center. That worked. I loved the way they looked. The taste was a bit flat. I think I will slightly increase the salt next time. I had followed another recipe yesterday where the taste was better but they did not rise properly. They were a bit too dense. Yesterday I boiled the bagels in water with malt syrup. I have no idea how that will impact the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I have made this recipe so many times with my bread machine, they always tasted good but just didn't present as well as some other peoples (in photos)...I am trying by hand this time, I must say that so far (they are still baking) they have plumped much better and the dough is not as "tough" as it was in the bread machine. I did although only added 5 cups of bread flour to the bowl and when kneaded maybe only added an extra cup. They smell delightful and I can't wait to try. I do also add either honey or maple syrup to the water to get a better color to the bagels as I have learned from other recipes and suggestions. This by far is the best bagel recipe, moving from NY to FL def satisfies my taste for a NY bagel! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I've made these bagels at least a dozen times so far and even the first time they came out really well. (And I am not an expert baker by any means...) I do a couple of things differently though. Instead of forming the bagel shapes from dough, I cut the dough into the sizes I want (I usually weigh each piece to about 3 oz.) Then I need each little ball again, and let them proof until they are a little puffy, about 10 minutes or so. Then, placing each ball on a very lightly covered surface, I stick my finger through the middle of each ball, and well... wiggle my finger, until I whip/rotate the dough ball around and around until the hole is big enough to fit three fingers through. Then I let the formed bagels proof until they are ready to boil. After boiling them, I apply an egg wash and bake them for about 18-19 minutes. Love this recipe. It takes some time, but if you make a big batch it can save you a lot of money on store bought bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
The perfect recipe!!! We don't have bagles in Italy and me and my family were missing them soooo bad!!! Used a little less flour and needed 40mins to get them brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is a great basic bagel recipe. It is a good jumping off point for changing it to your tastes. The bagels exactly as directed are delicious, it's made even better with garlic and kosher salt! I make up the dough the night before, let it rise, then stick it in the fridge (wrapped tightly in seran wrap) until I'm ready to make the bagels. It works fine and lets me sleep a little more and still end up with fresh bagels in the morning! Also, I'm sure it's probably against some bagel-making rule, but I form them into balls, flatten them, and poke a hole in the middle with my thumb. I didn't have much luck with the rope method - they turned out pretty ugly (just as tasty though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manistique, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
these were ok at best. i found the bagles to be a little on the tough side. i may try to make them again. maybe put them in the microwave before i eat them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eiffel
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I used one pack of yeast instead of half pack, and brushed each bagel with egg white before baking at 425 degree. Bagels came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eiffel

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States