Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
LOVE these! I made them today for the second time in three days. They're incredibly easy since the breadmaker does all the work of kneading, rising etc. The only time-consuming part of this is shaping the bagels. The first time I made them I added 1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries, and the second time I made them I added 1 cup raisins and 2 teaspoons cinnamon. I used whole wheat flour both times and they were still light and soft. Amazing! I skip the boiling though, it doesn't seem to work for me. I just brush the bagels with 1 egg white mixed with one tablespoon of water before putting them into the oven to give them a shiny look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I thought these we delicious! However, as bagels are, they are extremely time consuming. I don't have a bread machine and did it all by hand. I also added some raison for a little extra flavor. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
After making these there was no way back to storebought one - my family wouldn't eat them. They are fairly easy to make, a little work intensive but totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Escazu, San Jose , Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L.Cumminger
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Very good, used 2 and a half cups whole wheat and 2 white flour and they tasted great. Made 9 good sized bagels that held their shapes well. Try sprinkling with onion powder, mmmmm...so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.Cumminger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I liked this a lot, it did remind me of New York bagels. I tried the work saving method of the bread machine, but was rewarded with more of a clean up, a yeast dough will stick to a non stick surface. I made an old favorite but hard to find salt bagel using course salt and they came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
These bagels are easy to make and also very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I've been baking since I was 13 and never tried to make bagels. This was a great recipe to start with! Shaping takes a little practice to get that perfect look. I turned up the oven to 400 the second time. The only real problem I've had is not being able to keep up with the requests for more from friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Plain Walt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Maybe it's because of the flour here in Spain... but my bagels tasted great but were soooooooooooo hard you could kill someone by throwing one at them!! Will keep trying and changing the flour... Wonderful taste though... none left! (even though hard as bullets!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
So, so, so good! This was my first attempt at making bagels, a venture I had been looking forward to for months. Though I spent all afternoon doing these(stupidly, I used a small pan that could only boil one bagel at a time) they were well worth the time and will be treasured as gold. To make them everything style, I sprinkled with dried, minced onion; poppy seeds; sesame seeds; and kosher salt. Eating them right out of the oven, they didn't even need to be toasted. Just smother with a little cream cheese and enjoy. In a nut shell, good recipe, easy to do, time consuming, but worth it if you have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I grew up getting fresh bagels from a real bagel shop most weekends. For the last four years we have lived on a small island in the Pacific NW and there is no place to get a REAL bagel. This was my first attemp to make my own bagels and they came out great. At the request of my family I made them the next day as well. On the second day I increased the temp to 400 degrees at 20 min. I also brush all the bagels with a light water/egg mixture to help the toppings stay on and to help crisp up the outside a bit. These came out perfectly. By the way, I mixed by hand and baked on a pizza stone. I made two batches the second day. One batch had 3 cups reg. flour 1.5 cups wheat...they tasted great too. Thank you! I will never again long for a REAL bagel! The only possible problem is that my wife says this needs to be a new Saturday morning tradition. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Friday Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States