Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Tons of fun to make with kids, and they taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Excellent Recipe! Don't need bread machine. Mix as usual just heat the water and butter before adding. Use only 4 cups of flour in mix and add only necessary amount of remaining 1/2 of cup as kneading dough. Wait until the tops of bagels are slightly browned which may take 5 to 10 min longer than recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
I have made this recipe twice,and my girls just love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
In Arizona you can't get a real New York Bagel. I made these and my man,( a New Yorker) said,"Finally a New York Bagel!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Oh my GOSH!!! These were delicious. I love to make breads and had never tried bagels before so I gave this one a try. They turned out great. A couple of changes though. I only need 4 1/4 cups of flour, and to make it healthier I substituted 1/2 cup of WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR for an equal emount of all-purpose. Next time I think I'll substitute more. And I also used brown sugar for the bagels. And I also extended the baking time because 25 minutes was not entirely long enough; they were still too moist in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I had never made bagels before attempting this recipe. They turned out great! Next time I would add a little more water to the pot as some of the final bagels in began to stick to the bottom. Using a wooden spoon to mix is just as quick and effective, if you'd like to have less clean-up. I will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This recipe was awesome. I had never made bagels before, and they turned out sooo good! I left some of them plain and put cinnimon, sugar, and brown sugar on the rest before I baked them! Sooo good! but before you try to form them read the "Step by Step: forming and baking bagels." it helped a lot and i didnt have any trouble at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This recipe worked out well for me. I substituted 1 1/2 cups ground oats for 1 1/2 cups of the flour to add more nutrition with no effect on taste or texture. As suggested in a review for another bagel recipe, I used molasses in the boiling water instead of sugar, but since I haven't tried it with sugar I don't know if there was a difference. The pans need to be well greased, and even so the bagels stick; next time I will use parchment paper or a silpat. They are chewy, but unfortunately do not have the yeasty/sour taste you look for in a bagel. I made half of them cheese bagels (use very sharp cheese for this), and half cinnamon raisin. They are delicate while boiling, so turn them over with a spoon or fork rather than tongs to avoid ruining the shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I doubted I really could make a "real" bagel from a recipe but I DID! The recipe was great. My family thought they were good,too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
I was very happy with the outcome of these bagels. They have a great chewy outside. I would definetly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States