Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
Ifound that the bagles were a little salty, but I think that if you cut the salt in half that went into the water it would solve that problem, The steps were very easy to fallow, but bagles take work. My son loved them but said they tasted diferent than the Bakery. I added Chocochips to mine and they were great but a little salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2000
The consistens is not like that of other bagels more like buns in a round shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLOSILKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Reviewed: May 26, 2000
I have a bagel maker which makes the boiling part much easier. I hadn't thought of boiling them in a skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2000
as a 16 year old with free time during summer, i love cooking and these bagels are wonderful. they don't take too much time to make, aside from waiting for the dough to rise, but forming the bagels into a nice shape is tricky (i haven't been able to make them look like decent ones yet) but they taste delicious, wonderfully chewy and yet not the least bit rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
I have made this recipe twice,and my girls just love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
In Arizona you can't get a real New York Bagel. I made these and my man,( a New Yorker) said,"Finally a New York Bagel!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
I`ve been very pleased with the taste, but the look wasn`t very impressive. Maybe I did something wrong, because they weren`t very smooth on the top. Or is it because I made them with 3 cups WW Flour and 1.5 cups white flour? I have no idea! But anyway, the taste was delicious. And that`s all that matters, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Tons of fun to make with kids, and they taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I had never made bagels before attempting this recipe. They turned out great! Next time I would add a little more water to the pot as some of the final bagels in began to stick to the bottom. Using a wooden spoon to mix is just as quick and effective, if you'd like to have less clean-up. I will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Oh my GOSH!!! These were delicious. I love to make breads and had never tried bagels before so I gave this one a try. They turned out great. A couple of changes though. I only need 4 1/4 cups of flour, and to make it healthier I substituted 1/2 cup of WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR for an equal emount of all-purpose. Next time I think I'll substitute more. And I also used brown sugar for the bagels. And I also extended the baking time because 25 minutes was not entirely long enough; they were still too moist in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States