Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Yum! Glad I made these. Next time I make them I will use whole grains for added nutrition. I did not have a problem forming the "bagel" shape. I took a ball of dough, poked a hole in it, and then put it on the counter and shaped a larger bagel form without picking it back up. Don't try to hold it while you make the shape, it doesn't turn out as pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
After making another recipe and them not rising at all, I thought I would make 6 bigger ones. But they got huge! so actually they were too big. I added cinnamon and raisins. I am going to make these again tomorrow using a bit more of both and more bagels and possibly boil them for a little longer as they were quite bread like...but on the whole great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Taste was very good, in fact my adult son loved them. I am giving only 3 stars, as they did not cook well with given technique and time in recipe. There were portions/pockets of dough that were sticky and undone, some being along the OUTSIDE of the bagel which I found odd. I made half following the recipe exactly, those I didn't care for. I did other 1/2 following s shorter boil time as posted by another reviewer, 2 minutes each side. I also think it is important to allow the bagels to drain and dry well post boil before baking. I will make again, but with these corrections. Great with poppy seeds, sesame seeds, garlic powder, salt, cracked pepper, grated Parmesan cheese and finely minced onion all sprinkled on top. (Like an "Everything" bagel!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I've made these 2 or 3 times now, they are really good. I roll out the dough & form circles instead of punching out the middle. My kids love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Great flavor! To get bigger bagels I made 8 instead of 12 and got the perfect size!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
These are great. It's interesting to make different flavors and use different kinds of flours. I have mixed in whole wheat, oat flour, oat bran, flax meal, soy flour. When you add whole grains just be sure to add extra water as needed until proper consistancy is achieved. Whole grains soak up quite a bit of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Good plain bagels. They need a little longer in my oven, so I'll try to remember that next time. The salt and sugar bath was interesting to me; I've always used baking soda, but this worked too. I just boiled 3 minutes on each side, then dipped in egg and then toppings. These turn out chewy and good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Excellent - easier way is layer water, salt, sugar, butter then flour and then yeast (didn't have a package so used 2 tsp yeast) in bread machine. Select dough setting and then make shape and place into water simmer and then bake - these turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Loved them! My husband only likes one brand of cinnamon/raisen bagels so I wasn't too hopeful since this was the first bagel recipe I've tried. He loved them! and I made some with onions and chia seeds in them for me and they were great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Phenomenal, and easy! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States