Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Excellent recipe! My roomates and family request these "Better than store-bought" bagels constantly. They are usually gone so fast I have to hide them so that I can have one with my morning coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Castle Hayne, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CARATAMB
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
this is the first time i made bagels and i think they turned out pretty good. they tasted great. they looked like bagels, but not perfect circles (look at the photo on this site). i think that will take some practice. i followed the step by step photo tutorial on this site "Forming and Baking Bagels".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Sorry...I just wasn't impressed with these. They tasted alright, just not really like a bagel should taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I think it was an excellent recipe. It was so easy to follow and the outcome was outstanding. One of the best bagels I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
I was very happy with the outcome of these bagels. They have a great chewy outside. I would definetly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Wow I really made my own homemade bagels! These turned out really nice.I'll be making these again they where well worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Excellent Recipe! Don't need bread machine. Mix as usual just heat the water and butter before adding. Use only 4 cups of flour in mix and add only necessary amount of remaining 1/2 of cup as kneading dough. Wait until the tops of bagels are slightly browned which may take 5 to 10 min longer than recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I doubted I really could make a "real" bagel from a recipe but I DID! The recipe was great. My family thought they were good,too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This recipe worked out well for me. I substituted 1 1/2 cups ground oats for 1 1/2 cups of the flour to add more nutrition with no effect on taste or texture. As suggested in a review for another bagel recipe, I used molasses in the boiling water instead of sugar, but since I haven't tried it with sugar I don't know if there was a difference. The pans need to be well greased, and even so the bagels stick; next time I will use parchment paper or a silpat. They are chewy, but unfortunately do not have the yeasty/sour taste you look for in a bagel. I made half of them cheese bagels (use very sharp cheese for this), and half cinnamon raisin. They are delicate while boiling, so turn them over with a spoon or fork rather than tongs to avoid ruining the shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This recipe was awesome. I had never made bagels before, and they turned out sooo good! I left some of them plain and put cinnimon, sugar, and brown sugar on the rest before I baked them! Sooo good! but before you try to form them read the "Step by Step: forming and baking bagels." it helped a lot and i didnt have any trouble at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States