Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
An excellent recipe, easy to follow and practically fool proof. Used butter instead of margarine and halved the quantity of flour for whole wheat flour. Turned out great but instead of making 12 next time will make 8 to get the standard size for bagels. They are on the small size but good kid size bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly "as is" and these turned out PERFECTLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This is an excellent at-home bagel recipe. I used 4 1/4 cups whole-wheat flour instead of 4 1/2 cups white flour and added just about 1 1/2 tblsp more water. I also added 1/2 cup sunflower seeds. Bagels turned out soft and chewy. Perfect texture. They were a little small though, but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I made these for my boyfriend and this is the response I got "I am not just telling you this because your my girlfriend...this was the best bagel I've ever had...ever." lol so I definitely recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
These bagels were fun to make. Although they did not taste like real bakery bagels and were a little tought at chewing they were delicious. I even made a misrake in the baking and they still turned out good. Try making these!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Add 1 T of Malt Syrup before mixing for a more hearty, bakery-like flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
what a great recipe: easy to follow, great results, great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hengyang, Hunan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Excellent recipe! My roomates and family request these "Better than store-bought" bagels constantly. They are usually gone so fast I have to hide them so that I can have one with my morning coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Castle Hayne, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CARATAMB
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
this is the first time i made bagels and i think they turned out pretty good. they tasted great. they looked like bagels, but not perfect circles (look at the photo on this site). i think that will take some practice. i followed the step by step photo tutorial on this site "Forming and Baking Bagels".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Sorry...I just wasn't impressed with these. They tasted alright, just not really like a bagel should taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States