Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was my first bagel baking attempt and I love this recipe. I doubled it, and they turned out fantastic! I substituted half of the flour for whole wheat, and will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Used whole wheat for 1/2 the flour and then covered with sesame seeds and a lite sprinkle of salt before baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CYNDIE4
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
AWESOME! The first time I made these my husband said ‘it smells like a bagel shop’. We ate the whole dozen. Theyre irresistible & super light. While not as big as bagel store bagels you can make less than a dozen. I made plain sesame poppy garlic onion & everything. They sorta deflate as they go in the simmering water. The next time I made them they didn’t come out well. Was it the metal mixing bowl metal tongs & spatula or Kosher salt (that would be really funny).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Roscoe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Turned out much better than expected! Soft centered, crunchy exterior. I've never had a fresh from the oven bagel, I'll never buy stale bagels again! The only thing I did differently was use 1/2 cup honey and and 1/2 cup molasses in my water because that's what I had on hand. I can't wait until my husband and kids get home to try these!! Thanks for the excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by avick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
These were amazing! My family ate all of them in one evening! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This recipe worked great! My husband loved them. We had bought some homemade ones from a mother raising money for a cause. They were ok, and I was happy to help out, but these were a whole lot better. Thanks for the recipe I will be making this one again, with cinnamon and raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April JoAnn Salsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodland Park, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This is a really good recipe to use and they taste amazing! However, I would boil the bagels for at least another minute. I also shape the bagels with a cup and then stick a clean finger in the middle of it and spread the hole out to make the perfect bagel shape!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I made whole wheat bagels (2.5 cups of bread flour, 2 cups WW), they were excellent! I think the boil time needs to be a few minutes longer, a few of mine collapsed after i took them out of the water. I'll be trying cinnamon raisin tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaVR6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Carolbz
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I used the bread machine for the dough, which took 90 minutes. Everyone in my house loves cheese bagels, so I added about a cup of mixed grated cheddar and parmesan. You could totally customize this recipe to make cinnamon-raisin, or any other sweet or savory bagel. The recipe's easy to follow and wasn't super-messy (thank you!) I baked the bagels on parchment paper, which helps with clean-up. Ours turned out a variety of shapes and sizes (which is what I wanted;snack vs sandwich vs toasted) and they were all really, really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Wonderful bagel recipe. No changes needed. Worked great with my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States